Blood and Bullshit

4 Dec

WARNING: If you are more offended by the marking up of a book than by the contents and commandments of genocide, rape, and torture contained within, proceed no further.

A few days ago I happened upon a wonderful gem: a rubber BULLSHIT stamp. Once I discovered said stamp I quickly went out, bought a red ink pad, and began testing it out. I decided to test it out by applying it to some of the texts most deserving of it’s seal off approval. (Click pics to enlarge)

Later that evening I hit upon another idea to illustrate the bloody nature of the bible and the koran, but unfortunately I didn’t have any professional fake blood. (I missed my chance to stock up on Halloween) I tried to cook up my own, but unfortunately it ended up looking a more like jam than blood. I guess I’ll have to get some professional fake stuff and do it over again. In the mean time, here is how they came out: (again, click to enlarge)

Lastly, just a prototype of something I thought up last night, religion as “Just a bandage.”

I feel it is important to preemptively conclude with a note about respect for religion and books some believe to be holy. No beliefs deserve automatic respect, no matter how intensely a believer values them. I personally find the edicts, theologies, stances on women, homosexuals, slavery, etc contained within these books to be abhorrent. I am exercising my free speech by branding these books as bullshit. Furthermore, I will not be burning these books. While I see no problem marking up my copies of these books, burning them historically implies that I wish to burn the people associated with these books. Nothing could be farther from the truth. I do respect the rights of those individuals to believe in these books, even if I find the books to be repulsive. When I am finished with these books I will bury them and plant flowers on top so something beautiful can grow from the ugliness contained within.

3 Responses to “Blood and Bullshit”

  1. greengeekgirl December 4, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Nice.

    A wee tiny touch of green might have helped your blood color.. given it a slightly brownish hue.

  2. Ben Hoffman December 4, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Christianity has always been a political tool to control the weak minded.

  3. David Gampe June 11, 2021 at 3:52 am #

    Blessed is Jesus Christ the only true God.

Leave a comment