Hey old friend, it’s been a while.

15 May

Hey, how’s it going? I’m sorry I neglected you for almost two months. My life’s really been busy over that time. I wanted to make a point of writing something here today because today is the three year anniversary of the roughest day in my life, and I really think I’ve come far. Three years ago today I graduated college and moved down to South Carolina. I won’t bother going over why it was the roughest day in my life, I’ve written why plenty of times here before. I’m long over most of that now, so that’s not really the point. I’m just amazed at how much I’ve changed in those three years; how much my life’s changed.

Back in the start of April I got a new job. I left the old one I was working at, the one I couldn’t stand, and started this new position closer to my house. I’ve been busier than I’ve ever been in my entire life. I regularly work 50 hour+ weeks. Despite all this, I love it. I love it because the people I work with are really amazing and my boss makes me feel valued and important. It’s the first time I’ve ever had job satisfaction like this. I just hope it lasts.

The job has kind of taken over my life for the time being. I was hoping to finish my atheism book by the start of April, but that didn’t happen. The whole project is on hold right at the moment. I have some more certifications I want to get, but I barely have any time when I get home to study. Outside of 1 weekend, I haven’t played any video games in a month. We’re looking at hiring more IT people at my job, and getting new servers, so my life should calm down considerably once that happens.

I’m still dating Kelly. She’s finally finished with her semester now. She’s got one more to go until she graduates! Oh, we planted a garden too:

IMG_20130406_163921

 

She and I have been talking, and we’re thinking of getting married after she finishes school in December. We have a lot of the same life goals and values. We’re both atheists who want to move out of the US, travel, and don’t want kids. We really seem to “get” each other and I’d like to have her as a partner on journeys. She’s not too keen though on moving to Australia like I was planning. She made the point that, while it would be fun to visit, it’s a bit like a bigger Texas. Sure it has Melbourne and Sydney (and Perth), but other than that it’s pretty open and barren. I’m fine with that as a single guy, but she was hoping to live somewhere a little more urban and connected while she is still young. That’s fine. I just want out of the US. We can move around later. I’m thinking the most realistic and quickest way out is to Vancouver or Toronto. Personally Canada isn’t my first pick since it’s America lite, but at least they have healthcare.

But this is all stretching a bit. We’re going to finalize plans more as December gets closer. In the mean time my life has just been taking off. Three years ago I had no prospects and no friends. Now I’ve got an exciting job as a system admin (funny because I was running from that for the longest time) and an amazing woman to share life’s ups and downs with.

3 Responses to “Hey old friend, it’s been a while.”

  1. James Smith May 16, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Your life may have been busy but it seems to have taken a strong turn for the better. Congratulations!

    Yes, there may still be setbacks or parts that are not as pleasing. But, in perspective, two steps forward and one back is still a step forward.

    In the practice of Tae Kwon Do, we had a principle called “Pi Sung” meaning “Indomitable Spirit” or never give up. That applies to far more than self-defense, it applies to life. If a technique in TKD or playing the guitar (as I am doing again now)is difficult, do not avoid it or give up practice it relentlessly until t is no longer an obstacle but a show piece.

  2. Mr_Higgins May 25, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Congrats on the possible marriage thing! I wanted to let you know cause of you I bought some Allen Edmond shoes, they are awesome. Hope everything else is going well with you. Sounds like it is.

  3. teo June 6, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    I’m so happy for you!!! You were kind of in the middle of nowhere not so long ago and now – what a dramatic change in your life for such short period of time. Hold on to your girl and everything will be OK 🙂

Leave a Reply

