Just the opposite.

2 Dec

This will be short. I’ve noticed something about myself. One of my guiding principles is to try and avoid whatever everyone else is doing or thinking. That might sound like what a 14 year old emo kid in high school might say, or some hipster kid drinking Pabst Blue Ribbon at an underground bar, but I don’t care. It’s not that I’m a contrarian, it’s just that I have a strong gut instinct against whatever is generally agreed upon by everyone else. If there is an accepted “right track” I’m not interested. If everybody agrees that X is true, I’m more hesitant. Sometimes I like to take just the opposite track even though it’s not as well mapped out as the accepted track simply because I feel there is some intrinsic value in not doing what everyone else is doing. Avoid the herd.

2 Responses to “Just the opposite.”

  1. slrman December 2, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    That sounds a lot like me. 😀 In have often taken the “path less traveled.” I dropped out of college to join the army because I had been going to school winter and summer for three straight years and I was burnt out on it and I was running out of money. I finished my degree while in the army. Nice, because the government paid for most of it.

    I took a job as a field service person for a machine tool company when most of the people I knew at school were working for banks and large corporations.

    I studied Korean martial arts when the rage was Kung Fu (it was during the TV series) and Japanese styles. I transferred to Arizona for IBM when the goal of everyone in my family was to move to Florida.

    I drove English sports cars when everyone else was into dragsters and muscle cars.

    I took up sailing when “everyone” was into power boats.

    I loved every minute of it and wouldn’t take back a second of it, even though I was thought to be an “outsider” and maybe even “weird”. As the song says, “I did it my way.”

    Do what’s right for you. What’s right for “everyone else” will not make you happy.

  2. pbanck December 2, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    First thing, if someone find out this quirk, they can yank your chain and secondly are you that insecure about your own strengths and integrity that you need to be a man against the flow just to prove that. I mean if many in the “herd” for once gets on the train, for the love of everything relevant keep em on track do not wander of to prove a point that only gives the controllers the tools they need to shift the herds attention to their goals?!

Leave a Reply

