Expedition: Alaska

16 Oct

It’s on. I’m doing it. My flight departs Columbia Metropolitan Airport at 5:49am this Saturday. I’m going to Alaska.

14 hours, 3,500 miles, 1 goal:

I originally was going to try and cram it all into a 3-4 day weekend. Not anymore. I took a week off work to give me the time I need to explore the area and have a better chance of seeing the aurora.  My exact plans are not finalized yet and I kind of like it that way. I really want the ability to change my plans on a whim. I rented a car with unlimited miles for that exact reason. If I decide I want to go to Anchorage 6 hours away to see something amazing, I’ll do it. I put out a couchsurfing request to see if I could stay with anybody, but I haven’t heard back yet. If that fails I’ll just find a hostel. All I need is a power outlet, heat, and a warm shower.  I’m in the process of putting together a travel folder with places I’d like to see during the day time and places to go filming at night. I also need to add contingency plans in case something falls through. I’m extremely excited about this, it’s practically all I’ve been thinking about this week.

I still have to pack. I know some people hate packing for trips, but I love it. It’s like picking out specialized gear in Oregon Trail, which actually isn’t too bad of an analogy given that I’m trekking into the Alaskan interior in October. I plan on writing up an entire blog post on my gear and what I’m taking. I just have to assemble everything. I also am going to try and write a blog post for each day that I’m up there, covering what I did that day and how it went. Right now one of the biggest obstacles I foresee is the need to sleep. I’m not going to want to sleep. I’ll be staying up till the wee hours of the morning hoping to catch the aurora, and then wanting to spend the day exploring the countryside.

Anyways, just wanted to announce that expedition Alaska is a go. I’m thrilled and can’t wait till takeoff. More to follow.

 

2 Responses to “Expedition: Alaska”

  1. slrman October 17, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    As they say in Australia, “Good on ya, mate!” Take lots od pics.

  2. Sarah October 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Oh, wonderful! I’d love to visit Alaska. A good friend of mine just moved to Kodiak, which makes me think a visit may be in my not-too-distant future. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

