A farewell to politics

12 Aug

A little while ago I had a revelation. My passion in life was a passion of rage about politics. It was something I was intensely interested in, something I followed very closely, and the whole thing was toxic. Paying such close attention to what was going on in my country made me furious, jaded, and boundlessly cynical. It was like a drug. I would do things like flip over to the opinion section of the newspaper just so I could become incensed. I had to break out of this in order to find my happiness again.

I’ve unsubscribed from all of my political subreddits, I’ve cancelled my subscriptions to political news sites, I’ve stopped listening to news podcasts, and I’m actively trying to avoid any discussion of politics. I feel like an alcoholic trying to recover and to abstain. It’s extremely difficult, especially in our hyper politicized society. Whenever I catch myself thinking about politics, I try to immediately start thinking of something else, like travel. Hopefully I’ll break the habit and be free.

Trying to shed politics from my life in no way changes my views on politics or the state of this country. Democracy, freedom, and human rights are still a delusion. The US is still not a country governed by the rule of law. We are going to continue to regress in every area be it reproductive rights, the environment, equality, science, you name it. Basically, everything good is shit and every ounce of freedom or liberty you think you have is a shame. Any horrible thing you can imagine is most likely actually happening in some capacity or another. I still despise our society, its priorities, and all the injustices it needs to run. There isn’t a damn thing you, or I, can do to change any of this. The society is its own super-organism and the will of the individual cogs doesn’t mean a damn thing.

So in the face of this reality I’ve decided to cut the cord. I’m accepting the fate of the country and the world and I’m trying to become at peace by just putting it out of my mind. There’s no sense in becoming upset over something I am powerless to change. I no longer want to talk or blog about politics. Instead I want to focus on the things I do have control over, like traveling, and find happiness in that.

 

 

 

5 Responses to “A farewell to politics”

  1. Michael August 12, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    One word: Zen

  2. Colin Covert August 14, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Dang! Where will I get my information now?

  3. Anonymous September 21, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Does that mean you won’t write in the blog anymore? I don’t mind if you don’t blog about religion or politics, but I still want to know what’s new in your life.

    • godlesspaladin September 21, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      I still am going to write on this blog. I’ve been meaning to for a while. Life’s just been pretty busy. Actually, I’m going to write an update and another post right now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Muslim reaction to Muhammad video highlights free speech disconnect. « The Godless Paladin - September 24, 2012

    […] 24 Sep I’m not sure where I stand with writing more posts on religion since I decided to stop writing about politics. The problem being that religion and politics are so often mixed, it’s very difficult […]

Leave a Reply

