I started a business

20 Apr

My goal is to travel around the world, but to do that, you need money. How much money depends on what kind of a life you’re going to lead and how you’re going to travel.

If you want to stay in a proper hotel every night, eat at fancy restaurants, and go on guided tours, all while maintaining a big house in suburbia back home, then traveling requires a LOT of money.

However, if you’re going to travel with just what you can fit in a backpack, you don’t mind using couch surfing or hostels, and you don’t have an obligations back home, then traveling can be very affordable.

The quest that as always bugged me though was “how do people who travel affordably still have enough money to eat? I mean, you’re going to run out of money sometime. It’s a mathematical fact.”

This is true, you do need some way to replenish your funds. This can be done either by working odd jobs while traveling, or by having passive income.

Passive income is any income that doesn’t require your direct interaction to make you money. The entire business is automated and you don’t have to worry about it, except to check in from time to time.

As such, I’ve started a flash cards company. Over the course of a week I digitized 500+ flash cards and put them in a printable format. I developed a website in an afternoon using a hosting company with drag and drop website creation, and I setup an account with e-junkie that handles the transactions.

Earlier this afternoon while I was walking my dogs, I made my first sale. I didn’t have to do a thing and I made $10. It’s a start, but I’m hoping the website will really start to pickup. I need to sell about 15 sets of flash cards to pay for the project, then I need to make 4 sales a month to cover operating costs of the website. Anything after that’s profit.

I have a few other business ideas in mind, I might execute those when I get them worked out a bit more.

Here’s my business if you’d like to check it out!

3 Responses to “I started a business”

  1. teo April 23, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    That’s so great! Well done and good luck with your business! I really hope you can get to the travelling-part soon 🙂

  2. Puddingpie May 26, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    Good to hear you have a business! This is a really cool idea. (I haven’t checked your blog in a long time, but I like reading about your interesting projects.) Your messed up your link though. Right now it goes to http://godlesspaladin.com/2012/04/20/2338/www.aplusflashcards.com, which is not a place. Obviously you intend it to go to http://www.aplusflashcards.com.

  3. Emma Tameside September 30, 2012 at 3:52 am #

    What a really good business idea, I’ll seriously be considering purchasing some of your cards. I myself started a business around five years ago, and I have to tell you, it’s a real grind. I would recommend checking out Reddit with this, I think it would be quite the hit.

    One thing I would also advise, Is that if you decide to expand, ensure that your software and social networking is handled professionally. One mistake I made in the early days of growth is keep an outdated computer system. It was only after my partner convinced me to invest in ERP Software Solutions that our efficiency reached a level we were happy with.

Leave a Reply

