Update on life

21 Feb

It’s been a while and a lot of things have been going on so I wanted to write a life update in my diary.

After months of searching I finally found another job after losing my first one in August. I’m now a part time pc repair technician at a little company in Irmo, SC. I’m pretty much the entire company. The owner, who previously did everything, died of stomach cancer about two months before the hired me. Since he did everything, there weren’t any other tech people. There’s one secretary, but she doesn’t know anything about computers. His brother has taken over for the time being, and so I’m the only one actually working.

I don’t think the company will be around much longer. I’m trying to plug the leaks, but I’m only one person who, while learning to be technical, is nowhere near the level of IT skill as the previous owner. We also don’t see enough business to pay the rent. /sigh So the job hunt continues.

In the meanwhile I moved back in with my parents. I know…. It’s not that I don’t like being around them, it’s just that I miss the freedom, the ability to leave the house at 2 am without arousing suspicion or waking the dogs (and consequently everybody else). I really hate how it looks from the outside. People who live with there parents are seen as losers who can’t get a real job, who don’t have any social skills, who aren’t responsible.

I have social skills, I had a real job, and I am extremely responsible. I’m perfectly capable of living on my own and taking care of myself. I did it for years at college, and for the entire time I had my first job afterwards. It really just comes down to economics.

Losing my job wiped out my entire meager savings and then some. I also can’t sign a year long lease on an apartment if I might lose my part time job soon. On top of that, I’m trying to be gone by August/September.

I’ve decided on Australia. They have a working holiday visa program for people between the ages of 18 and 30. The want you to have $5000 AUD before coming, so I’m going to save up around $7000 USD. The way it works is that you can work and live anywhere in Australia for a year, but no longer than 6 months with each company. I’m planning on flying over there and looking for work. If I build up enough of an IT skills background, that shouldn’t be a problem. After living there a year I’m going to apply for permanent residency.  That’s the plan at least.

On other notes, I got my A+ technical certification, and next I’m thinking about getting my Network + and possibly some Microsoft certs. I also got my conceal carry permit for South Carolina. I’ve been going to the gun range quite a bit and it’s pretty fun. Oh, and I built my own gaming computer. That had been a goal of mine for ages, and it’s awesome now that it’s finally finished.

I also just bought a ticket to go skydiving. I’m terrified. I hate heights and falling more than anything, so I figure the best way to get over it is to jump out of an airplane. I want to have some adventure in my life. I’m hoping doing this will help me show myself that I can do anything and will ultimately make me a more confident person.

Other than that not much has changed. Did a little housecleaning with regards to friends and relationships which leaves me with only a few people I interact with from time to time here in Columbia, but I’m getting used to that.

Not sure what else to include in this update. Those are all the major things going on in my life at the moment. I guess I’ll just end this here then. Laters.

3 Responses to “Update on life”

  1. Ness February 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I empathise with your loathing for the impression others get of you because you’re living with your parents. I’m leaving home for the first time in a week, and I’m 25! It stings but over time I’ve chosen to ignore these people because I think I’m doing the best I can, at the pace that I can and that’s got to be good enough.
    The Aus plan sounds fantastic. And we’ll be ‘neighbours’ 🙂
    Good luck.

  2. tteamy February 25, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Don’t listen to what people say about you living with your parents. The economy is rough & very difficult to live out there alone when jobs are scarce. Good luck on the skydiving & moving to Australia, I wish you the best in achieving your goals =D

  3. TheSecretAtheist March 4, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    I’ll second what’s been said: Don’t feel bad about moving in with your parents for a while, this economy is shit and it’s way better than ending up homeless or in massive consumer debt you’ll never be able to pay off!

    While I’ll be sad to see you leaving the Columbia area I hope your plans for Australia go smoothly, it’s the kind of thing I’ve thought about trying to do sometime. (Maybe not Australia, but spending time overseas. I’m not so sure about all the deadly critters they have there. Yes, we have our share in SC, but not nearly the variety they have.)

Leave a Reply

