Job searching sucks

11 Nov

Earlier this morning I dragged myself from bed, shaved, donned the business clothes I had spent late last night ironing, and drove off into the bright cold looking for work. When I got into town I found the office structure where I was hoping to find employment. A tall foreboding structure, encased in iron, it looked like a prison. I pulled into the parking garage, pressed the button, and the machine spat out a ticket. After several minutes of circling the garage, I finally found a spot and made my way into the building and up the elevator.

At the front desk of the office suite where I was to beg, sat a large grumpy looking old woman. “Hi, good morning, is this _____?” “Yes.” “Ah, great, I saw that you had a _________ position open. I just wanted to show some inititive and submit my resume in person.” “We don’t do that. Go online.” “Oh, ok, well do you know who is in charge of hiring?” “Here’s his card. Have a nice day.”

After 10 minutes I was was back on the road home after having paid $1.25 in parking fees for the privilege of getting rejected yet again.

It’s like that everywhere. I’ve applied to so many places online that I’ve lost count. Just yesterday I drove two hours out to Greenville to go door to door. We left at 9am and came crawling back at 6pm. No dice. Exactly a week again I drove another two hours to Charleston for a job interview that lasted four hours, only to get a “we’ll let you know in 5-7 business days” and drive another two hours back home. (It’s now the 7th business day and they haven’t called.)

I’ve gone door to door all over town, up and down elevators, through parking garages, and traffic. Nothing.

What kills me the most about this whole process is how much having a job is starting to feel like a privilege. “Please worshipful masters! Please! Let me labor for you! I’ll do anything!” Employers are in a position where they can be extremely picky to the point of being cruel. You can spend hours crafting a cover letter that will take them a fraction of a second to delete. You show up in person and the tiniest aspect of your appearance displeases them? Forget it. You can drive for hours to go door to door and get nothing.

The effort to success to soul crushingly bad. But what else are you going to do? You don’t have a choice. It’s a choice between banging your head against a wall till it bleeds, or starve.

5 Responses to “Job searching sucks”

  1. TheSecretAtheist November 11, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Ugh, I know it… I haven’t done any door to door or applying in person and I still know it sucks. I’ve been scouring the job sites and frequently checking businesses employment pages, sending in resumes and cover letters and not hearing back. I’ve had one job interview in the past year, last December. Didn’t get that job.

    What I’m tired of is the life insurance companies trying to get me to go through their training so I can try to sell all my friends and family their product. I discovered that recruiters get a cut of what the people they rope in sale, what a scam! I’ve been contacted by three of those, all of which are commission only and don’t provide leads to their salespeople.

  2. metaplastic November 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    >< I feel you. It's humbling spending months at a time trying to validate your existence to the world.

  3. Mister_Higgins November 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Don’t worry, us 1 percenters will come to the rescue, as soon as you get rid of the minimum wage, vote republican, and loose the EPA. Let’s face it, no one wants Lame Duck Failbama again as president. Anyway I am off to a country in Europe that only the rich know about.

  4. godlesspaladin November 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    @ Higgins: Greece? ~_^

  5. ChristopherTK November 20, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Just remember to keep your eyes open while you are banging your head against the wall.
    You never know when or where you might see a meaningful opportunity.

    Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

