Weight loss

28 May

I’ve always struggled with being heavy. It started in the 5th grade. I had to get allergy shots every Wednesday for 2 years, they did nothing, but as a reward I got a candy bar. I also started eating the cafeteria food at school. Fries, pizza, and those nutty bars. I started to pack on the pounds and they never went away. In high school I remember going from a size 34, to a 36, then I left for college at around 200lbs and a size 38. At college I really started to put it on. Freshman year I hit 210. With all the available food and no real structure (outside of class), it only got worse. Food was a communal thing. My friends and I were always eating together. We’d have study breaks and eat, we’d watch movies and eat, we’d play video games and eat. I got a part time job at a pizza place and would bring home pizzas every night to eat. By the time I graduated, I peaked at 260lbs and a size 42 waist. It was disgusting. I’ve always viewed my weight as my deepest personal failing.

When we moved down to South Carolina and I was suddenly without friends to eat with, or copious amounts of food, the weight started to slowly come down, but not by much. I would still drive out 15-20 minutes in the middle of the night to buy chocolate bars from the grocery store and eat them in front of my computer. I had no friends, no job, and nothing to do but sit, eat, and play video games all day and night.

I lost 20 pounds when my family moved across town. Carrying load after load of heavy boxes in the scorching SC summer really helped shed the pounds. Still, I was 240lbs. When we finally got settled in the new house, nothing changed. I went back to video games and candy. I managed to keep it level by driving to the gym and running for an hour, but other than that I made no progress.

My big break came when I got a job and an apartment. Again I had to move heavy boxes, this time up three flights of stairs. That helped me lose 10lbs and brought me down to 230lbs. When I started work I suddenly had structure to my life. I would get up everyday at 8, be at work by 9, and home by 5. I didn’t have time or money to eat a lot. The best part was that now that I was in my own apartment, buying my own food, I was the master of what I ate and what food I kept in the house.

I couldn’t get fat off of it if I didn’t buy it.

I started a regiment. 2 packs of oatmeal in the morning (210 calories) a snack bar around 10:30 (90 calories), a can of light soup for lunch (200 calories), and a snack bar around 2:30 (90 calories). This would keep me relatively full throughout the day, and by the time dinner came around, I had eaten under 600 calories. I could then eat whatever I wanted for dinner and have a beer and still be under 2000 calories. I tried to stay away from baked goods and chocolate. After a while I lost the urge to have them. I added going to the gym for half an hour or so to my routine and this brought my weight down to around 225-220lbs.

I was thrilled when I tried on a pair of size 38 pants and found they fit, though snuggly.

A week ago I decided to change up my diet and dump the massive amount of carbs I had been eating with my oatmeal and snack bar routine, and I’m now down to 215lbs. I’m only 5 pounds away from what I was 5 years ago. I’m starting to see results and this only spurs me on further. I went out and got some exercise equipment to start trying the p90x workout routine and was further thrilled when I found I could actually do chin-ups for the first time in years! I’m now sore all over, but I love it.

I have already lost 45lbs since when I graduated a year ago. Ideally I want to get down to 170. I’ve just got another 45lbs to go. My short term goal is 200lbs. I think that will be easier to manage for now.

It’s true when people say losing weight is one of the hardest things you’ll ever do. Just look around. Cheap trash food is everywhere. How many commercials a day do you see for crap food? How many hours a day do you spend sitting on your butt? For me it really did take a life style change. If you think to yourself “oh, I’m just exercising to lose weight, or I’m going on this temporary diet to lose weight” it won’t happen. I had to forget about losing weight and just changed how I lived. The weight loss just happened to be a side effect of that lifestyle change. (That way I also don’t focus on it all the time or obsess about it; it’s just something in the background)

So here’s to losing my next 15lbs, and then my next 30. I’m only 23 and I’m tired of waisting the best years of my life being fat.

8 Responses to “Weight loss”

  1. Willow Finishing Course May 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Best of luck to you! I think that you’re right when you say that the food we surround ourselves with matters a lot when it comes to your weight. What I’ve found helps me a lot is playing games on the Kinect; it’s like exercise plus game theory–trying to beat my friends’ scores and achieve new ranks motivates me a lot to get up and move.

  2. John Barron May 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    the diet I use when I start feeling big works like a charm. its a bit costly, but I lose 30 lbs or so in the first month. It sounds easier that it really is. but its not bad.

  3. godlesspaladin May 30, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Hey John, what diet is that?

  4. John Barron May 30, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    cut out as many carbs as you can.

    no…
    regular soda or sweetened iced tea/drinks
    beer
    very little alcohol (your body turns it to sugar)
    bread
    bagels
    chips/pretzels etc.
    sugary snacks (candy bars etc.)
    pasta
    pizza
    etc.

    you’d be surprised how many things have sugar or carbs. 2 or 3 grams isnt going to kill it, but binging too early will ruin it.

    you can eat…
    diet sodas or any diet drinks/water (i like the sugar free packets you can mix in a bottle of water. surprisingly they taste really good and very similar to the regular)
    steak
    burgers (no bun)
    any condements including mayo
    bacon
    sausages/keilbasa/hotdogs
    cheese
    ham
    chicken
    turkey
    salads with any dressing except the sweet ones.

    the fat content is irrelevant and so is the protien content. on occasion I’ll stop into a fast food place and get double burgers and discard the bread. I will even get the breaded chicken same with nuggets occasionally. Like I said, a few carbs wont kill you, just dont make it a habit. I still ate fried food, it didn’t seem to be too much of a hinderance, but I didnt do it all the time, maybe once or twice a week. you could drink a few beers or whatever once every couple weeks or so.

    in the first week, if youre honest you should be down 5 lbs, the weight pours off, in a month you should be down a minimum 20. even with no excersize!

    after a month, you should switch to a very low fat diet, and you’ll have to be careful not to binge, you can put the weight back on fast if you do. I also reccommend you stay on the diet drinks, i have and have maintained my loss even though i eat bad foods, but I also walk a lot for my job.

    after another month or so of the very healthy low fat, you can return to the diet and drop another 20-30 pounds in a month.

    This really is harder than it sounds, snacks are hard to come by, and can be frustrating if youre a snacker, which makes it harder. It doesnt sound healthy I know, and i was skeptical, but my cholestorol even went down from 232 to 180.

    If you have any questions or speculations:
    truthinreligionandpolitics@gmail.com

  5. John Barron May 30, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    If you decide to try it definately email me with questions on what you can eat and cant, im sure things will come up that you might wonder. I check my email as soon at it comes in, its linked to my phone. for example, i forgot you cant have french fries or potatoes.

  6. Lucy May 30, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    I have been a tubby chica my whole life so I feel your pain! We are trying to eat healthier though because we have had alot of people losing parents way too young to heart disease and other “heavy” diseases. Our plan is to exercise though cause healthy with kids and a budget is tough! The other week we were trying to come up with alternatives to buying pop for the house but honestly pop was the cheapest by far out of all the options which is so sad. Fruits are cheap now thankfully so they have become snacks and desserts and we only eat fast food as a treat once a week or less. Small steps but here’s hoping!
    Lots of luck to you good sir! 🙂

  7. thesecretatheist May 31, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    I’ve been closely monitoring my eating habits for about 3 months now, and also have been monitoring my weight. I haven’t made any drastic changes to my diet, aside from cutting down on how much I eat and limiting fast food, but the combination of daily seeing what I weigh and tracking every calorie I consume has helped me a lot. I’ve lost about 12 pounds so far, I’m nearly back down to my college weight (250, I stayed there until probably two years ago). I plan to get down to 200 at least. I realize I’ll need to modify my diet some and add in exercise (not so much for weight loss as for heart health, though) but I’m off the the best start I’ve ever been.

  8. thisisnessie June 1, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    I like your idea about cutting down calories during the day and leaving yourself enough room to enjoy dinner and after dinner treats. I know lots of people say it’s a bad idea to eat a large meal in the evening but I’ve also heard that it’s good to save your calories for the meal you enjoy most, so you don’t feel deprived because that ends up being demotivating. Hey, if it’s working for you (and it clearly is, because you say you feel good and by your pics on fb you look great 🙂 ) then keep at it. Congrats on the weight you’ve lost so far and working hard to get your goal, it’s inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

