How many lives have you had?

29 Mar

How many lives have you had? I’m on my fourth, saving up for my fifth. What do I mean by that? Well for example, my first life was spent growing up in Virginia Beach. All the people I knew back then, my best friend, my hobbies of making movies and doing medieval living history with the Virginia Medieval Arts Association, all that was my first life. That life ended when I graduated high-school, burned a lot of bridges to toxic relationships, and went off to college.

College was my second life, starting over from the ashes of the first. New friends, a new love, new hobbies. That life got washed away when I graduated and left everything to start my third life down here in South Carolina. That third life was the toughest. Luckily after a few months I managed to start my fourth life, getting a real job, an apartment, and a whole new group of friends.

Lately I’ve realized I’ve kind of been drifting in this fourth life of mine. I’ve always had this vague idea of starting my fifth life in 3-5 years in Canada, but now I realize I need to speed that time frame up. This fourth life is kind of an interim period before my real life really gets started. I imagine my fifth life will be moving to Ontario, finding a new love and new adventures. There certainly isn’t anything for me here in South Carolina.

It’s just odd when you run into someone/something from one of your past lives. Sure we all keep connections from different lives, but we’re really not the same people we were in those lives. I’m three lives different from the person I was in my first life. If I ran into my old best friend from back then, he’d have no clue who I was, I’ve changed so much. Same could be said for my second and third lives.

So how many lives have you had?

4 Responses to “How many lives have you had?”

  1. ashleyfmiller March 29, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    This is my ninth…

    I shall name the epochs: Litchfield, Greenville, Laurel, Crayton, Dreher, Emory, FSU, LA, SC

  2. godlesspaladin March 30, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Dang, that is a lot…

  3. teo March 30, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Let me see… that would be my seventh…
    But I had different lives in the same place too. I also don’t think that a different place automatically means different life – it’s about if you’ve changed or if you’re living different parts of your personality with different people …

  4. godlesspaladin March 30, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Yeah, I would agree with you Teo that a different place does not always mean a different life. My third life was here in Columbia, so too is my fourth life, it’s just that now that I have my own apartment I have changed into a different person. Still the same city however.

Leave a Reply

