My first apartment

13 Feb

Regular readers will have noticed that my blog has been silent for two weeks. My apologies about that, but I’ve been moving into my first apartment. This was a day that I honestly thought would never come. I’ve been yearning for this for years. I’ve always wanted the space and freedom that comes with your own apartment. On top of that I’m paying my own rent, which is a massive boost to my self-respect. My parents still like to take me out for dinner from time to time, but other than that I’m paying my own bills. I know that in time I’m going to hate paying my own bills, but right now I still have that “finally independent” high so don’t ruin it for me.

Here are some pics of the place. Warning, it’s a mess and I’m still unpacking it. When I’m done I’ll put up some finished pics:

My kitchen, I swear it’s clean now:

Luckily the apartment I got has a sun room so the living room was extra big. Over the years I’ve collected a lot of medieval decorations, but my tastes have changed a bit and I didn’t want to decorate my entire apartment like a castle. I also figured that since I was paying for the apartment, I didn’t need necessarily have the “bed room” be the bedroom and the “sun room” the sun room. It is my space, I can do whatever I want with it. I decided to put my bed in the “sun room” with an antique Japanese divider sectioning off the place. This way I can turn the “bed room” into my craft room and put up all the decorations that I had collected over the years but didn’t want to put in the main living area.

My art room:

Other way in the craft room

Over the years I’ve been collecting a lot of books. I’ve always had boxes and boxes of books in anticipation of finally getting an apartment and having some place to put them:

(I was a good foot off the ground on top of that pile)

And so now that I have a place of my own and bookcases to hold all my books, this wall is my pride and joy:

As I’m typing this I reminded of the other reason why I love having my own place…quiet. (My grandmother has the TV up really loud in the next room and it’s very hard to concentrate)

Anyways, I’ve been off line for two weeks because the cable company still has not hooked up my internet… once that’s done my place will really feel like home. I know there is work and bills to worry about, but damn being an independent adult is amazing.

6 Responses to “My first apartment”

  1. humanitarikim February 14, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Congratulations. I’m sure it feels amazing.

  2. thesecretatheist February 14, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Congratulations again! Also, I am glad to see that final picture, it comforts me very much to know your books have a proper home and aren’t being used as a chair or bed. 😀

  3. godlesspaladin February 14, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Hahaha, yeah they’re happy in their new home. 🙂

  4. thesecretatheist February 15, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    I’ve got a bunch of books living in boxes right now… It is a sad existence for them. I need more shelving. (My father is actually in the process of building me a shelf that I hope will hold most of them!)

  5. Steve February 22, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I love the picture of you on the mountain of books! I am a book lover too.

  6. teo February 26, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    Congratulations !!! I’m very glad for you 🙂

    As nice as it is to have a lot of books around, you may check out bookcrossing.com, if you like to make room for new books 😉

Leave a Reply

