I’m stuck in limbo…and it’s hell.

30 Jan

Yes, I know those are two different places…

I just got my first apartment. I pick up my keys on February fourth. This is something that I have desperately wanted for a long long time. It is a major milestone for me in my adult life. Just about none of my other friends from college have full time jobs or their own places, so I’m feeling awesome. Just one problem:

I have to wait a week….

Gah! This is killing me! I want to move in right now so badly! I’ve been dreaming of how I’m going to decorate my first apartment for years! In college I always had an amazing dorm room. I would organize it and decorate it as dry runs for my apartment. My friends were always impressed with how all out I went. I figured why not? I was going to be living there day in and day out during the school year, I should make it feel like home! Well now I have an entire apartment to myself! I can spread out and put up all the decoratiosn I’ve been collecting over the years in anticipation!

But I can’t do shit for several more days. I want to run out and buy all my furniture and start moving stuff around, but I can’t. There’s no point even in me going furniture shopping right now since I don’t have access to the apartment. I can’t buy anything without being able to know if it will work in the space I have. I find myself straying onto the craigslist furniture section, or walking through furniture stores, but I have to stop myself. What’s the point? I’m just teasing myself….

The worst bit is when I see something that looks awesome, but that will most likely be sold and gone by the time I get the keys next Friday… It’s agonizing. They whole thing is really throwing a wet towel on what should be one of the most exciting periods of my life! My father is very level headed and nonchalant about all of this, and I know he just wants to make sure I do things right the first time, but he doesn’t have the sense of straining excitement that I do. I’m just so worried that by the time I finally do get the keys, the weeks worth of pain will numb me to any excitement I should feel on the momentous day.

That’s what happened when I got my learner’s permit to start driving. I accidentally miscounted by one month and showed up at the DMV early. I waited in line, got all excited, only to get to the counter and be turned away for being a month early. By the time that month had passed, I was so upset about having my excitement crushed, that I was numb and indifferent on a very important day of my life!

4 Responses to “I’m stuck in limbo…and it’s hell.”

  1. Danny January 31, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Mr. Paladin:

    I find great pleasure in yard saling. I collect mostly antique glass (anything from 1040’s or older), although I tend to buy a bunch of junk as well.

    Two weeks ago, I stopped at a yard sale and got two leather couches, very good condition, from a young couple, for $40. I was totally stoked.

    There will always be stuff out there for you to buy. You might think you are missing out, but you are not.

    Congrates on your new place! Very exciting indeed!

    Danny

  2. greengeekgirl January 31, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Ahh, yeah, the urge to nest–I had that hardcore when I first moved in with hubs. Now.. well, our economic situation is different, so we don’t do a whole lot of decorating, ha.

    I remember we found this painting, though–I forget what it is now, it was a repro of a famousish painting. It’s a black horse, done gesturally, like with charcoal or India ink. We both saw it from across the room and we were in love with it. We paid like $175 for it and walked right out with it.

  3. godlesspaladin January 31, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Oh god, don’t mention nesting… >.< My ex used to say that's what I was doing all the time with my dorm room when she moved in with me… :p

  4. thesecretatheist February 2, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    The best thing about having an apartment instead of a dorm room is that in 9 months you don’t have to pack all your crap up for 3 months only to unpack it again for another 9 months. You put it there, and you can stay thee for a while.

    I’ve been in the same place for THREE YEARS now! If I stay here for just over a year it’ll be the longest I’ve been in one place since before high school! (And it’ll almost be the longest I’ve lived in one place since I was 10.) (Place being a residence, not a city.)

    I do plan to move some place nicer (with maybe some windows that are insulated and a door I can’t see light through the crack in the middle of, a place that doesn’t leak heat like a sieve) shortly after I find a job. Should that wonderful day ever happen…

Leave a Reply

