What are some things you’re proud of?

13 Jan

In order to take a breather from the heavy posts I’ve decided to write one asking the simple question: What are some things you’re proud of? I don’t know about you, but I’m usually pretty hard on myself. It’s not often that I step back and say “yeah, well done.” Here’s a list of the things I’m proud of accomplishing:

  • My suit of armor: One of the first things I ever did that I was really proud of. I started making this at age 12. I would go to a much older friend’s house every Monday night to work on this for a few hours. I cut it out all from giant sheets of steel and then cold hammered it together over an anvil. It took about three years worth of sporadic Monday nights to finally complete the whole thing. A lot of that time was spent in the freezing cold shed, heated only by a propane space heater, surrounded by the smell of cigarette smoke and the defining noise of hammering.

  • My living history group’s trebuchet. This is in the same vain as the armor. I built my first trebuchet at age 12 as well. (I have pics of it somewhere, I’ll have to find them) It was pretty big, had a 16ft throwing arm. Later, with my medieval group, I helped build a massive trebuchet out of period and location correct wood, using no nails. It had a 1600lbs counterweight and could drop bowling balls on an archer target over and over again.

  • Being inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, a national historical honor society and presenting my research papers at various universities, and beating out graduate students while I was still an undergrad.
  • Being picked as a George C. Marshall Scholar out of a pool of applicants from all over Virginia, then being one of the 11 or so who actually completed the serious research project and had their paper accepted. (Oddly enough my ex from high school had gone through the same thing a year prior)
  • Graduating from college in four years with a 3.97 GPA for my major related coursework. Going to college and being around other college people, I just assumed everybody went, though only a third of the US population has a college education. I knew a lot of people in college who either didn’t make it in the four year time frame, or who just barely survived classes in between weekends of binge drinking. Overall my GPA was alright (above 3.0) but that was because I experimented with classes outside of my comfort zone (history) and my GPA suffered a bit for it. I was really happy to pull off these grades especially after being a C – D student all throughout high school.
  • My art creations: I’m not a super artist, most of my projects are first time attempts at something I came up with, but I really love the feeling I get after something finally comes together.

  • Having a real job. I know this one might sound stupid, but after about 7 months of desperately searching I’m really happy to finally have a real job, and one that I love at that! I feel it’s one of those milestones you check off as you grow up. By next month I’ll have my own place that I’ll be paying for and I’ll be able to check that off the list too!

So what about you guys/gals? What are some life accomplishments you’re proud of?

10 Responses to “What are some things you’re proud of?”

  1. humanitarikim January 14, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I know the long hours and commitment to finishing your armor must of been grueling, but it turned out fantastic! (My boyfriend has been working on Storm Trooper armor for several months.) And, your trebuchet is impressive!!

    Congratulations on your accomplishments!

    Some things I am most proud of in my life include completing two associates degrees as a single mom, raising two talented, handsome, reasonable sons that out-smart me on a weekly basis, working in a field that saves lives, and having the courage to be who I am, openly.

  2. teo January 14, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    wow, you’re really hard on yourself, I’m not comfortable sharing my little good stuff now 😉

    But I have to say: great achievements, well done, love your art works and the historic stuff ist just awesome!

  3. godlesspaladin January 14, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    @ humanitarikim completing those two degrees as a single mom is quite a feat! Working to save lives is also really impressive, way to go!

    @teo Aw, not even a little bit? I know you had a paper you presented a while back that went very well, and on top of that you know at least three languages, which might not sound like much to you but blows my mind. 🙂

  4. teo January 15, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    10x for the compliments, but I can’t add anything with your criteria. I’ll try to do better and report something next year 😉

  5. thesecretatheist January 16, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I’m proud of having obtained a master’s degree of music. I’m also proud to have sung some very wonderful major choral works in my lifetime.

    I’m proud that I know how to bake, and how to roast coffee, and other culinary things I know how to do.

    Proud that I can think critically and rationally. 🙂

  6. Puddingpie January 31, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Congrats on the job! I hope it’s working out awesomely.

    <– is that even an adverb? 😉

    I am digging that amethyst and copper wire necklace you made. Just discovered your link to Shattered Lance. I am running around in the archives (metaphorically) with boundless enthusiasm.

  7. Three Ninjas February 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I am proud that I have done not one but two songs with Jennifer McCreight, that PZ Myers let me put him on an album cover, that I’m opening for an actual indie tour next week, that people Jen and my friend Mathias, who I think are geniuses at what they do, like me even though there is so much wrong with me.

    I’m also proud that I can be a mopey bag of self-hatred, ready-to-cry emoness one minute, and I can get on stage and turn into a confident charming performer who loves life the next.

  8. thesecretatheist February 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    You know that album cover is how I discovered PZ Myers?

  9. thesecretatheist February 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    (And that discovery was one of the things that led me to realize that I am, and have been for a while, an atheist?)

  10. Three Ninjas February 12, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I had no idea!

Leave a Reply

