Women who date men old enough to be their father

21 Nov

I can’t take it anymore, this is driving me fucking insane. What is it with women who date men old enough to be their father? (I’m talking 13+ years older) It feels like everywhere I look women are dating men much much older than themselves.

Freshman year in college I had a crush on this one woman I kept running into at the coffee shop. I got talking to her, but she was dating a guy in his 40’s. Next, my ex’s best friend starts dating an unemployed guy in his late 30’s who still lives with his parents. Then my ex leaves me for a man who’s almost 40! Over the summer I find out that another ex of mine, from a long time ago, is now dating a new guy who’s in his 30’s. The other guy she was dating (also in his 30’s) turned out to be married. I strike up a long running conversation with a woman far away who’s having relationship issues, and it turns out the guy is almost 50. And now, to continue the saga, a friend from back home says she’s dating a guy who’s 49.

All of these women are my age, in their early 20’s. What gives? I can’t find anyone interesting, and when I do, they’re dating a man old enough to be their father. A friend of mine tried to explain this away with “they have daddy issues,” but that is not the case. My ex who left me for the older man has an amazing dad and a very great, supportive family. Another friend tried to tell me “well they just want someone more mature.” Also not entirely the case. Are their very immature 20 something men? Of course! There are plenty, but there are also very mature 20 something men, I count myself as one of them. I guess I’m just bitter, but I hope the trend is still popular when I’m old. Maybe then I can date someone, even if she’s young enough to be my daughter. /sarcasm

10 Responses to “Women who date men old enough to be their father”

  1. Rabbit Dildos November 21, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Maybe they just feel they can hold an older man’s attention better and act more like a spoiled little girl, daddy issues or not.

  2. godlesspaladin November 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I don’t think that fits either. The women I know are mature sensible people not given to that behavior. A couple of them are even in better life situations than the men they are dating/dated, so they’re not dependent on them.

  3. ashleyfmiller November 21, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Money, an interest in mature people, an interest in starting a family/having a more settled life than one might normally get from dating someone in their 20s. I date older men because I find that men my own age are impossibly immature — I’m sure some of them aren’t, but that’s just a theory since I’ve never met them.

  4. godlesspaladin November 21, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Thanks, though I’m not sure what I can do but wait till I get older to start dating women who are currently my age. I’m just frustrated because I put in a lot of effort to separate myself from the guys my age, but it doesn’t seem to help. I have the drive and focus to get my degree in 4 years with a good GPA, I don’t party, get drunk, and make bad decisions, I’m not self-centered, I take other people into consideration when doing things, I have good hygiene habits, I always love trying new things, and while I’m not happy with where my life is, I’m actively working to make it better.

    Despite all this I feel lumped in with the college drop out who’s comfortably living with his parents, picking his nose while drunkenly playing xbox…

  5. thesecretatheist November 22, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Gives me hope for my future! I’m 31 and single, maybe when I’m 41 I’ll be dating a 25 year old! (Not likely, but one can hope, right?)

  6. ashleyfmiller November 23, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    I’m frustrated because I did all those things as well, but boys only seem to be interested in is things that decidedly have nothing to do with my brain.

    • godlesspaladin November 24, 2010 at 12:08 am #

      Unfortunately I don’t think that’s something they grow out of until they have to use a walker to get around…and only then it’s because they’ve resigned themselves to inaction. I guess it just depends on who you meet. :-\ I don’t know, maybe I’m weird, but brains are a must for me.

  7. thesecretatheist November 24, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I couldn’t date someone who I can’t have an intelligent conversation with. The problem is I usually end up becoming good friends with those people then feel it’d be weird if I tried to date them.

  8. KKK November 29, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    WELL I AM 23 AND I AM DATING A MAN WHO IS 46. WE HAVE BEEN DATING FOR 3 YEARS NOW. I HAVE A 4 YEAR OLD AND HE HAS NO KIDS AT ALL WHICH IS A WONDERFUL THING NO DRAMA FOR ME WE ALSO LIVE TOGETHER. THE REASON I ADORE HIM AND ADMIRE HIM IS BECAUSE HE IS LOVING, CARING, PASSIONATE TAKES TIME TO LISTEN AND JUST ADORES MY DAUGHTER. TRUST ME I HAVE NO DADDY ISSUES WHAT SO EVER. MEN MY AGE ARE JUST SO CONFUSED DONT KNOW THAT THEY REALLY WANT IN LIFE AND STILL WANT TO BE A PLAYERS. I KNOW WHEN YOU ARE IN YOUR 20’S MOST PEOPLE ARE REALLY NOT READY TO SETTLE DOWN. BUT GIRLS TEND TO WANT TO SETTLE DOWN FASTER THEN GUYS AND SOMETIMES GUYS JUST CAN HANDLE THAT. SO WE AS WOMEN WHEN TEND TO TURN TO WHAT’S RIGHT AND WILL WORK BEST FOR US. AND THAT SOMETIMES CAN JUST BE THAT OLDER GUY BUT HEY JUST REMEMBER THERE IS A LID FOR EVERY PO YOU ALL WILL FIND YOUR SPECIAL SOMEONE IN DUE TIME. TAKE CARE AND GOOD LUCK. JUST MY OPINION AND PERSONAL EXPERIENCE.

  9. Charly June 30, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    I am a 50 year old guy, I am having an affair with a 26 year old woman, she knows I am married and she loves it, the sex is great, she does everything I tell her and she is eager to please me; I could not be happier because In my twenties women were not interested in me at all so I guess now its my time.

Leave a Reply

