Atheist comedians

7 Oct

This past day I happened to stumble across two really good atheist comedians and they’ve really brightened my day. My big favorite right now is Australian Tim Minchin. He’s a multi-talented singer/song writer/poet/pianist who preforms barefoot, looks like a Johny Depp character, and has the wits to match. His personality is really great and he’s always very enthusiastic. Just watching his facial expressions while he preforms is half the fun.

 

One of my favorite segments of his is a song titled “The Good Book”. It’s a great little song where he highlights the flaws with trying to use the bible as a guide for moral behavior. Anyways, check it out:

The other video I came across that I thought was really great is actually a 9 minute beat poem he wrote and preformed. The poem is about having an argument with an anti-reality, anti-science, anti-medicine hippie at a dinner party. There was one line that really stuck with me. The girl, named Storm, claims alternative medicines are better than real medicines, to which Minchin replies: “By definition, ‘alternative medicine’ has either not been proved to work, or proved not to work. Do you know what they call ‘alternative medicine’ that’s been proved to work?……Medicine.” Anyways, here’s the poem:

He has a lot of other funny songs out dealing with a wide range of topics, I recommend checking them out. I’m honestly not to surprised I haven’t heard much of him here in the States. I know he’s toured here once, but not once did I hear a peep about him. I guess that’s what you get in a country as up its own ass with religion as America.

The next guy I found is the late Bill Hicks. I’m really surprised I just now learned about him since apparently he was really big and Comedy Central named him one of the top 20 best stand up comedians of all time.

The thing that really shocked me was that I didn’t realize he was talking about Bush I and Reagan until after I learned that he died in 1994. Guess things really haven’t changed much with that crowd in the past 16 years.

I also really loved this one. He got the creationists off by 6,000 years (he thinks they think the world is 12,000 years old, when they really think it’s 6,000, but that’s peanuts in the grand scheme of things) Pay attention to the part where he talks about a couple of christians coming back after the show to harass him for what he said. I thought his response was brilliant and I’m going to try and keep it in mind.

I’ve been watching a couple of other people, such as Dylan Moran, and I’ve noticed that even though some of these non-American comedians don’t focus on religion nearly as much as Hicks or Minchin, they all seem to be post-atheism, that is to say, they and their audiences just assume atheism is the default and belief the anomaly.  Moran mentions religion briefly in his act, but mentions how nobody believes anymore and the ones who do, well you just want to give them a biscuit so they’ll just stop yapping on and on about it. I’d love to live in that world. I think the fact that European comedians can assume their audience is post-atheist, where as American comedians have to assume just the opposite, is really telling. Anyways, I know there are a bunch more out there. (Lewis Black and George Carlin come to mind) Are there any that you enjoy and would recommend?

2 Responses to “Atheist comedians”

  1. Lisa Marie Bowman October 7, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    I have to admit that this is the first time I’ve actually come across the term “post-atheist” but it is something I’ve noticed in the past as far as the difference between American and European culture is concerned.

    It’s interesting to note that atheists and skeptics are reguarly elected to public office in other countries yet here in America, there is only one member of the U.S. House (Pete Stark of California) who is willing to admit that he doesn’t believe in a “higher power.”

    It’s hard for me to think of any comedians who aren’t atheists, to be honest. I guess a sense of humor and religious belief don’t necessarily go hand-in-hand. 🙂

  2. godlesspaladin October 7, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Yeah I’m trying to think of comedians who aren’t atheist, but only Dan Cook is coming to mind. <.< I know of a handful that don't bring up religion in their acts, but that doesn't mean they're not atheists. I guess it's just that religion provides so much funny source material.

Leave a Reply

