Hollywood must ruin everything…

6 Sep

One of my favorite vampire movies of all time is “Let the Right One In”

If you have not seen this movie you must. The trailer makes it look a lot darker than it actually is, but the main focus of the story is the relationship between Eli (the vampire) and Oscar (the boy). It has 8.1 out of ten stars on IMDB (with 56,000 votes) and Rotten Tomatoes gave it an amazing 97% fresh rating.  (Seriously, stop what you’re doing and go see this movie). Well with this much love for a movie, you can understand my horror when I saw this:

Yes, Hollywood has taken this wonderful movie and have remade it. Watch the two trailers side by side, you can see that they’ve shamelessly ripped off entire scenes. Apparently 96% of films released by Hollywood in the past 2 years have been remakes. (That’s according to Plinkett over at Red Letter Media the stat is in Part 1 of his 2009 Star Trek review. Warning though, his reviews are an acquired taste)

At first I was going to rant about how this is a symptom of capitalism and Hollywood’s quest to make as much money as possible, but then I realized that was inaccurate. Yes, Hollywood spends most of their time making shitty movies and it is only rarely that good one’s come out, but that’s because of the American audience, not capitalism. To me, the fact that the majority of movies in mainstream theatres are shit is symptomatic of having an audience that prefers to be be mindlessly entertained. Yes, the bulk of the American movie going population is not very well educated and wants to be able to turn their brains off and drool when they sit in a theatre. Hollywood knows this and caters to these masses in an attempt to make the most money. The lowest common denominator.

It’s a pity really. There are so many wonderful films out there that don’t get the attention they deserve because they are either too complicated for the American audience, or they’re in another language. The last thing the average American movie goer wants to do in a theater is read subtitles. I feel this sterilizes us and cheapens our culture is we’re not willing to explore other artistic avenues simply because we don’t want to have to read subtitles. Artistically, it’s like you’re locking yourself in a closet with only some of your favorite pictures to keep you company, refusing to explore outside. I have a feeling there might also be a hint of blind nationalism in there too. “I don’t want to watch no for-rain movie! Emerica’s the best at everything! Why would I want to watch some shit?” <facepalm> Am I being to harsh here? I just feel that if I was wrong, quality cinema would do better in mainstream theatres, but since it’s not, then obviously the American audience is comprised of morons.

2 Responses to “Hollywood must ruin everything…”

  1. Lisa Marie Bowman September 6, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    I had a similar reaction when I learned about the Hollywood remake of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

    As a big fan of both movies and horror (which I use as a general term here since the original Let the Right One In doesn’t sound like a typical genre piece), I’m sad to say that I wasn’t even aware that this was a remake until I read this post just now. But Lord knows, I’ve seen the trailer for the American version every single time I’ve gone to the movies for the past month and a half.

  2. godlesspaladin September 6, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    I’m wondering what Arleigh thinks of this, but he didn’t have a “contact me” button on his site so I couldn’t ask. (Send him over here if you get a chance :p) But yes, you must see the original. If you can’t find it in stores, I know you can bittorrent it on thepiratebay.com (It’s also on tvshack.cc where you can stream it, though it’s the dubbed version… http://tvshack.cc/movies/Let_the_Right_One_in__2008_/ ) (also, be careful on tvshack.cc, it’s full of malware that will open up other windows and try to download viruses to your comp, fyi)

Leave a Reply

