Adventures in libertarianism

5 Sep

I do not consider myself a libertarian, but admittedly I know very little about  libertarianism. In an effort to broaden my horizons and examine other view points, I’ve decided to examine libertarianism and see how it sits with me. I’m starting off with “Atlas Shrugged”. I hope to go through the book over the next few days. I know I have plenty of friends who are libertarian, so if you have any other book suggestions let me know. 🙂 Hopefully when I’m done I can write a conclusion post summing up what I’ve learned and my reactions.

Cheers,

-GP

7 Responses to “Adventures in libertarianism”

  1. Lisa Marie Bowman September 5, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    I am a libertarian of sorts so let me just warn you: Atlas Shrugged sucks! Yes, it is a book that has influenced a lot of people who consider themselves to be libertarian but, to me, it’s more elitist than libertarian.

    Of course, unfortunately, there are a lot of libertarians — especially in the U.S. Libertarian Party — who treat Rand’s work as if it’s holy scripture and who go so far as to list their religion as being “Objectivist.”

  2. godlesspaladin September 5, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Ok, I’ll keep that in mind ^_^

  3. godlesspaladin September 13, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Bowman, I’m starting to see what you mean. I’m a bit into chapter 4 now and the “bad guys” (ie, Jim Taggart and all the railroad people who want to help others) seem to be really oversimplified to be excessively incompetent and lazy. Hell, I’m fairly progressive and I think they’re idiots. The elitism is really coming off. Rearden and Dagny Taggart seem to be the lone bright sparks of competence amid a planet full of lazy idiots who are dependent on them. (But I’ll see if this changes as I go along, I’m still only in chp. 4)

  4. Lisa Marie Bowman September 15, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    That’s my main objection to Atlas Shrugged. It’s just so heavy handed and, to me, it almost seems as if Rand is using the basic ideas behind “libertarianism” as an excuse for fascism.

    Actually, I tend to dislike most “ideological” novels regardless of whether I agree with them or not. Far too often, concepts like plot and characterization are sacrificed in the name of getting across a neat and tidy message.

  5. godlesspaladin September 15, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    That’s a good point, I’ll keep that in mind if I ever choose to write one. (I’ve got an idea for the setting of one, but that’s about it)

  6. faustusnotes September 16, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    so two weeks later… still reading?

  7. godlesspaladin September 16, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Yep, still chugging along on the ipod whenever I get a chance. There are 3 or 4 audio files, each 11 hours long, so it’s taking a bit to get through it.

Leave a Reply

