I’m leaving the country, why do you care?

1 Aug

Have you ever noticed that people get insulted when you don’t like something they care about? It’s really irrational. Why should it matter that I don’t like what you like? You enjoy it, isn’t that enough? But no, they feel that since they like it, it must be right, and you’re wrong by not liking it. It gets even worse when you dislike a religion or country, or something that they take as a personal identifier. If you dislike something like that they see it as a personal attack.

I have decided that I want to leave the United States. My reasons are my own and I don’t need to explain them to you, but regardless, I want to leave. I’m also thinking about giving up my US citizenship. Does that piss you off? Why? Why should it?

Is it because of the cognitive dissonance? If you’ve been telling yourself, and hearing from others, that everyone loves it here, that everyone is dying to get in here, that this is the greatest place on earth, then yeah, I could see how somebody hating it and wanting to leave would make your brain hurt. People say “Love it or leave it”, well guess what, I’m leaving it! I think it’s funny how this takes them aback for a second. “Wh….what? You’re leaving?” Next comes sour grapes where the offended person tries to use ad hominem attacks. “How dare you leave! How ungrateful of you! How selfish! How un-American (like that’s a bad thing?)” So am I trapped in my own country? What’s the value of citizenship if I don’t have the freedom to leave?

14 Responses to “I’m leaving the country, why do you care?”

  1. brucetheeconomist August 1, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    The same reaction as when people seem offended by someone speaking a language they don’t, even if that someone is just speaking their native tongue.

  2. Greg Christopher August 2, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I would leave myself if I didnt have family, house, job concerns. Which you appear to not have. So good luck, buddy. RUN!

  3. faustusnotes August 2, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Where are you going to go? I would recommend Australia but I fear it’s about to go down the gurgler.

    • godlesspaladin August 2, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      I’m not sure exactly. No place is perfect. I would really like Sweden or Norway, but I’d have to learn the language, and I suck with languages. (perhaps some day). Right now I’m mainly looking at British Columbia in Canada or Wales in the UK. I also have a friend in Ireland, so maybe there. All of those places are really beautiful and I could travel easily from them. 🙂

  4. Greg Christopher August 2, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Do you have a trade of some kind? Any special skills?

    Do you know Kung Fu?

  5. godlesspaladin August 2, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I know a bit of longsword techniques :p Otherwise, no, at the moment I don’t have anything, which is why my move is going to have to wait a few years (hopefully not more than 4). Hopefully I can get a good job and emigrate to the UK as a skilled laborer or something since I have a college education.

  6. Greg Christopher August 3, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Take a trip to UK, get a hot girl to marry you, then get a free citizenship.

  7. faustusnotes August 5, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Greg, the problem with that model is that all the hot girls in the UK are foreign.

    Australia’s looking for migrants at the moment…

  8. Greg Christopher August 5, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I would love to move to Australia. Do they give you any incentives, Faustus?

  9. faustusnotes August 5, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    The sun, the sea, the sky, the friendly people, the great food? you shouldn’t even have to ask…

  10. Greg Christopher August 5, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Well, I don’t have the savings to facilitate a move unless I had a guaranteed job. I could walk out on my mortgage, no problem. I am totally underwater.

    But I got 2 kids and I would need a good job for on of us. My wife is a hospital medical coder, so that would help a lot.

  11. godlesspaladin August 5, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Australia also has giant spiders that you need to suck up with a shop-vac… at least that’s what one of my profs who lived there had to do.

    Though I would like to move there just to be closer to Yahtzee from Zero Punctuation

  12. faustusnotes August 5, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    countries without giant spiders aren’t worth living in. You shouldn’t suck them up with a vacuum cleaner though, they’ll be waiting for you when you empty it.

    Greg, just sell your children. It’s worth it!

    I’m pretty sure medical coding jobs are common in Oz. It’s currently doing quite well in the unemployment stakes (30 year lows, about 4-5%) but I don’t know how easy it is to get a job from overseas.

    One good thing though – all your incomprehensible American worries about healthcare will disappear in the sunlight. Australia has a functioning national health system!

  13. Greg Christopher August 6, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    My wife and I both have excellent insurance, despite our national system being broken. Benefits of bourgeousie life, I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

