Proof Tea Party not in touch with reality

17 Apr

Ok, just the other day was tax day. Obama and those damn liberals raised your taxes again didn’t they! Golly gee willikers! Turn off Fox “news” for two seconds and take a moment to actually look at the check you’re signing to the IRS. I’ll give you a moment to recover from your shock.

Ok, breathing again? Yep. You got a tax CUT!  That’s right. The damn “tax and spend” liberals CUT your taxes. Yet despite this, most Americans have no idea this happened. I blame 2 things. Poor PR on the part of the liberals, and the boundless stupidity of the American people. Apparently many believe that by hoping and prayin and wishin and willin hard enough you can actually change the fabric of reality.

It’s really scary that now-a-days people are more willing to believe whatever bullshit Fox shovels them instead of actually looking at the check they’re signing.


6 Responses to “Proof Tea Party not in touch with reality”

  1. dswilson April 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Thank you! You summed up what I have felt about the tea bagger’s since their inception. Unfortunately, I have to bite my tongue, as I teach in a small rural republican dominated county that prefers to argue by physical confrontation.

    The gym I work out at runs Fox “News” all day, and I have learned to use that anger it creates in me to reach new levels in my workout.

    The only redeeming value of the tea baggers is the fact they will split the republican vote… GO SARAH!

  2. pastorjeffcma April 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I am assuming we all understand the difference between getting money from the government (which doesn’t have any) through a series of tax credits and a tax cut, right?

  3. pastorjeffcma April 17, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    I am assuming that we do know the difference between the government sending out money (of which it has none)through an ever growing series of tax credits and actually cutting taxes.

    I must admit something you said I found amusing and I chuckle every time I hear it. Poor PR on the part of the liberals–they own every television news channel there is (I won’t count FOX because you indicated they are not really “news”), the vast majority of the print media, along with the President having the bully pulpit and yet they can’t get their message out.

    And then there is the boundless stupidity of the American people. So, where are the few pockets of wisdom among the American people?

    • godlesspaladin April 18, 2010 at 2:07 am #

      Haha, yeah, Fox “news” is not news. Heck, just check out how ridiculous they were about “reporting” the Nuclear Security Summit. Instead of focusing on any news items, they chose to try and say the logo for the summit was a secret message to Muslims. The Daily Show had an amazing segment on it, here. (I also have an entire post here as to why they aren’t a news station) To be honest, I’m not sure who exactly owns all the other stations besides Fox, so I don’t know how conservative or liberal they are. (And I also despise all of those stations, Fox or not, they’re all about ratings and alarmism. I only get my news from either the BBC or NPR) But I would point out that there are a variety of different print sources other than newspapers (Which are dying out) and the conservatives totally dominate the radio waves. (Air America just went under a little while ago) But all this media stuff aside, it still doesn’t change the fact that 98% of Americans got a tax cut and they still don’t know it.

  4. pastorjeffcma April 17, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Sorry, I did not think my first comment made it through–thus the repetition.

  5. pastorjeffcma April 18, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Allow me to begin by saying that I (by choice) have no television programming coming into my house. So all my news is either the internet, radio or the one news weekly that I receive. Now, I will at least commend you that in condemning FOX you did not talk about watching MSNBC. I have watched FOX extensively in the past and I have the opportunity to watch in 15 minutes a day since one of the machines at the gym carries it (and I came to find out that was an accident since they subscribe to MSNBC–an island of conservatism in an ocean of liberalism). Here is what I do realize–as a conservative I can see a huge number of misrepresentations on MSNBC and as a liberal would do the same with FOX. I think it is kind of like what you said on the “About” page regarding chocolate–suddenly it is everywhere you look.

    On to the other matter–explain the tax cut situation to me. I am not disputing that many people got more money in a refund at tax time–that is indisputable. What I am saying is this–when you put together the earned income credit, the child tax credit, an expanded Hope Education Credit, the new home buyers credit, the Making Work Pay credit (part of the stimulus package), people received money. However, that does not mean taxes were cut. So what tax cuts are you talking about? I may be ignorant on this issue but I am not aware of them.

Leave a Reply

