Should I buy a gun?

25 Mar

So lately I’ve really been thinking if I should buy a gun. The political climate in this country is starting to worry me. With Tea baggers throwing bricks and cutting gas lines, conservative bloggers calling for the assassination of the president, and Fox “news” constantly inciting their viewers to violence, I’m afraid that the violence is only going to escalate. I’m even more worried that when the republicans take power in 2010, there is going to be a strong crackdown on human rights and other freedoms. Worse, if they do not take power in 2010, I’m pretty sure that will be the last straw. After being drunk with power for 8 years, they really can’t swallow the idea that the American people voted them out.

I’m really thinking of buy a gun to protect myself and my rights of freedom of speech and religion from right wing nuts who would take them away. Part of me on the other hand however doesn’t think that buying a gun is a good idea. Nothing good will come of it. The more the victims we are the better. When the crazy nut cases go over the brink and start wholesale shooting liberals, as I’m afraid some will do in the future, the rest of the sane world will see them for who they are; and then we win.

4 Responses to “Should I buy a gun?”

  1. Ben Hoffman March 25, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    The teabaggers are such morons, they’ll probably just shoot each other. Or themselves.

  2. Kelsey March 26, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I’ll just say this: Marc is only half joking when he talks about our arsenal being useful against a teabagger uprising.

    I’m sure he’d be happy to advise you.

  3. godlesspaladin March 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Any advice would be welcome 🙂

  4. Marc with a C March 29, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    AK-47 is the way to go. Gunbroker.com is a good way, as you can compare rates, and find an FFL holder near you to transfer the gun to. Also, prices have gone down since the post-election freakout. I suggest either a WASR or a Saiga in 7.62×39, as that caliber is cheap and plentiful. Getr a couple of mags and a 75-round drum or two, and you are ready to rock and roll.

Leave a Reply

