Sexist Dodge Charger Superbowl Ad

11 Feb

I’m pretty sure by now almost everyone has seen this ad by Dodge aired during the 2010 superbowl:

Ok, so lets recap on the things that men are supposed to be surrendering to do in exchange for driving the car they want:

I will walk the dog, I will eat fruit as part of my breakfast, I will shave and clean the sink after I shave, I will be at work by 8 am

[Ok, these things are just basic responsibility issues. You’re supposed to be an adult. What? Without your wife nagging you to be a mature, responsible person you would not walk the dog, you would not try to eat right, you would not clean up your mess, and you would not get to work on time? Way to go.]

I will sit through 2 hour meetings

[Ok, that’s just part of your job, how are women responsible for this? You’re in control of your own life, don’t like your job? Quit and get a new one, but don’t try and blame others for your unhappiness]

I will say “yes” when you want me to say “yes”

I will be quiet when you don’t want to hear me say “no”

[Somebody has honestly and trust issues in their relationship…]

I will take your call

[That’s just being courteous. You wouldn’t be courteous without nagging? If she’s calling too much, then use a little thing called communication and talk to her about it for a change.]

I will listen to your opinion of my friends

I will listen to your friends’ opinions of my friends

[Again, communication! Any maybe you should start evaluating why you’re in a relationship with this person if they don’t like who you associate with]

I will be civil to your mother

[I guess courtesy is just something men do because they’re forced to by women, for without women they would all manners and social skills /sarcasm]

I will put the seat down

[Oh heavens! I can’t just only ever think of myself!?!? I have to consider that other people might live in the house too?!?! Gah! I can’t take this courtesy thing!!!]

I will separate the recycling

[Yeah, real men don’t give a shit about the environment or recycling!]

I will carry your lip balm

[Really? How often do women ask men to carry a small tube of lip balm? And if she does happen to not have any pockets or a purse, what’s the big deal? It’s not like she’s asking you to carry a pink umbrella.]

I will watch your vampire TV shows with you

[Ok, seriously, communication. I bet she does things with you that she’s not overly fond of. Relationships are about compromise. Try and find something you like to do together or get out of the relationship. It’s not all just about you.]

I will take my socks off before getting into bed

[Really? This is an issue in your relationship? Talk to her about it! Make her see that’s it’s not a big deal. If wearing socks to bed is a deal breaker, then there are more important things wrong in your relationship]

I will put my underwear in the basket

[As opposed to what? leaving them on the floor for other people to pick up? You’re an adult, take responsibility for your own mess.]

As you can see, this entire commercial is about men shifting the blame for being stuck in an unhappy relationship, a boring job, and having to be responsible onto women. “I’m too lazy and immature to take control of my life, so I’m going to blame women for trapping me…” Is this seriously what Dodge is telling us men are? No thank you.

5 Responses to “Sexist Dodge Charger Superbowl Ad”

  1. Brian February 11, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I’m mostly in agreement. I find this ad hideously insidious. The core of the ad is, your life sucks, but it’s not your fault. It’s society’s fault and you are a prisoner. You are always under supervision, whether at work (by your manager) or at home (by the wife). There is no escape, so just relax, float downstream. There’s no point in fighting it. Here, buy yourself a car. It’ll make you feel better.

    Can you think of anything more, well, evil? Seriously, if that was my life, and I knew I couldn’t escape, I think I’d kill myself. But the truth is we do have agency, we can change our lives, and you can walk away. Yeah, there’s a price to be paid, but the price for abdicating all responsibility is far larger.

    Frankly, I think this Dove ad is worse, since it has pretty much the same message, but tells you to be happy about it. Again, your life is on rails, you really don’t have choices or any say in what happens or what you do. But that’s ok because this is what it means to “be a man.” (And I find it interesting that if you search for the ad on YouTube, you get this version instead. Subtly different, but…)

    This, frankly, is scary stuff. Is this the life most guys are living? “Quiet lives of desperation” indeed. But I suppose you can’t be told what the Matrix is…

  2. Phil February 16, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I was once on track to make a career out of advertising, and I can tell you with great certainty that this ad has nothing to do with responsibility or men being prisoners. The men and women at Chrysler had one thing in mind, and that was to sell cars. And it will work.

    Men around the country saw this ad, and it made them want to buy a Charger. This isn’t a proclamation for men around the nation to unite against their oppressive wives. This isn’t a message warning men that their very existence is at stake… it’s simply a selling technique.

    PS- Chrysler would be absolutely tickled by your reaction if they saw it… LOL, it’s exactly what they wanted! This ad was meant to be polarizing, and look at the exposure (for a 3.1 million dollar discount) that you are giving to it simply by blogging about it!

  3. dannilda February 28, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Dear friend, let me tell you that you have done a splendid job taking this add apart and really explaining what each of its parts mean. Phil, let me tell that the main point of the add,as you say, is not to tell men that they are being oppress by their wives. The issue with this add is that it teach what society has already taugh all of us (and still keep doing it), that women are the oppresor of men. And poor men, o wow, they have to do the little things that women make them do. What about women. Who is in charge of the house? Who is in charge of the kids? who has to work in the house and outside the house? who is there when the hsuband’s mother get sick? (not the son certantly, but the wife).

  4. Billy Walters April 21, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    ok, i was going to post in the atheist section with some agreement, but found this thing. under “feminism”? well, you’ve come a long way, baby. yeah, there was a time when women got the shitty end of the poop stick. they were property, they couldn’t vote, they couldn’t go to school; a whole list of things that wouldn’t fit in this one box. but this is what’s passing for feminism in 2010? disecting a mindless tv ad? how can you find only this, or a select group of ads insideous? they ALL are. phil did hit on a good point, “the men AND women at chrysler had one thing in mind”. yes, money. as for dannilda, sorry you seem to have gotten into a bad relationship and ended up so bitter about it. if this is what offends you, just be glad you don’t live somewhere that a man could have you stoned to death for no good reason. now THAT is offensive.

  5. fantomex9 March 26, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    I love the new 2011 Dodge Charger, want to own the die-cast model kit (if there is one; I can’t and never will be able to own the real thing, for reasons that are too long to get into here) am a guy-and I found the commercial offensive.

    There were better Dodge ads made in years past that didn’t put down women or objectify them like this one, and they sold the product quite well; why no do commercials like that, instead of insulting most women with this ad? The only thing it did was most likely ‘drive’ women to buy a Prius or any other kind of hybrid car/truck/van out now (for a real comparison, check out the ads for the Chevrolet Cruze-well made, inclusive of everybody, not insulting of anybody, and featuring that hot song by Janelle Monae, Tightrope-why couldn’t Chrysler do that?)

    This ad was a low point in advertising history.

Leave a Reply

