The bible does not matter

24 Jan

One of the most annoying things non-christians have to deal with is christians throwing bible verses at them. Look, we all know you think that book has some kind of magical power, and that it is the key to absolute truth, etc, etc, but we don’t.

Injecting bible verses into a debate, or onto an object do not help your argument. No one has ever seen a bible verse and gone “Oh my gosh! I’ve been wrong this entire time! Reality and evidence don’t matter after all! The magical power radiating from this righteous verse has shown me the way!”

In fact, using bible verses actual hurts your argument. To thinking people it shows that you do not have enough support for your claims, and so you must fall back on a book that you, and you alone, hold as absolute truth. Well guess what, sorry, but that doesn’t prove shit. (Not that you’d care)

When I was a christian, I used to think the bible had some kind of magical power. When I accidentally knocked mine off the desk, I would freak out, dust it off, and pray for forgiveness having possibly damaged it. It was sacred. I thought that I could use it, combined with a cross, to hold back evil spirits. Now that I’ve grown up, I realize that the bible is just a book, just like any other book. It is simply ink printed on paper. It has to magical powers, and is mass produced like all the other books.

It’s funny when people bring it up in a debate. “Well in verse X god says ABC”! I always want to reply: “Oh really? Well in Harry Potter, book 3, Dumbledore says XYZ!” I’m pretty sure I’d get a dumbfounded look on their face. “Bu…bu..but THAT’s not the BIBLE!” Look buddy, you can scream it as loud as you want, or say it with as much reverence as you want, it doesn’t change the fact that it is still just a book that you personally believe to be the word of god, and sorry, no matter how deeply you believe in something, that faith doesn’t make it true.

20 Responses to “The bible does not matter”

  1. David H Mercier January 24, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    God’s word does not return void, it will purpose what God intends it to do, Isaiah 55:11

    If a person doesn’t receive God’s word for salvation then God will use His word to judge that person in the last day, John 12:48

    A Christians will quote scripture to you because they speak from the authority of God, not their own.

  2. mcoville January 24, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    and because you say it does not matter does not make it wrong.

    Oh ya, there have been some that have woken up to the truth through the word of God, wither that was reading it for themselves or hearing someone read it. The words of God have power, after all He did create the universe with a spoken sentence (one verse, a Uni-verse).

  3. R. Munroe January 24, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    ^ I don’t think you read this too well.

  4. Shamelessly Atheist January 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Sure, mccoville, sure. You do realize that the bible itself is the single biggest generator of atheists? That’s the power of scripture for you!

  5. godlesspaladin January 25, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    mcoville, you wouldn’t even know what a uni-verse is if it was not for science. You’d still think god’s “creation” was limited to the flat earth and bowl like dome that makes up the sky, while the earth remained still and angels pushed around crystals that make up the stars…

    And David, did you even read the damn post? It’s as if you just saw the title “The bible doesn’t matter” and your little faith feathers got all puffed up. Why the hell are you spouting bible verses after an entire post on how they’re useless? Somebody’s got a thick skull…

  6. David H Mercier January 26, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    I don’t have “faith feathers”, The point that I made and you obviously missed was simple, Christians don’t speak from their authority they speak from God’s authority.

    “mcoville, you wouldn’t even know what a uni-verse is if it was not for science. You’d still think god’s “creation” was limited to the flat earth”

    The Bible teaches that the earth is a sphere that hangs in space, suspended by nothing, I would give you chapter and verses but you won’t hear it so you will have to take my word for it.

  7. Shamelessly Atheist January 26, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    The Bible teaches that the earth is a sphere that hangs in space, suspended by nothing, I would give you chapter and verses but you won’t hear it so you will have to take my word for it.

    When did a ‘circle’, as it is described in the bible, become a ‘sphere’? Not to mention the ‘four-corners’ thing… Stop trying to use the bible as a science text. It doesn’t work.

  8. David H Mercier January 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I don’t know of any Christians who say the world is flat, I know the Bible doesn’t teach that so when someone says something along the lines of,

    “You’d still think god’s “creation” was limited to the flat earth”
    That’s obviously a straw-man argument,

    Circle doesn’t mean “flat” the root meaning Hebrew word “chug” is translated sphere.

    Sound science does not contradict the Bible science fiction does.

    In the beginning there was nothing then nothing exploded and the universe was formed (big bang)

    Man evolved from apes (when I go to the zoo I can see that the ape is still an ape)

    Global warming…(look it up)

    http://redeemthetime.net/2010/01/25/global-warming-scientist-used-false-data/

  9. Shamelessly Atheist January 26, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    In the beginning there was nothing then nothing exploded and the universe was formed (big bang)

    What a physicist means by the word ‘nothing’ is not the usual meaning of the word. I suggest viewing physicist Lawrence Krauss’ lecture on the subject if you can find it. And it wasn’t an explosion – it was the expansion of space that began with the big bang, which we still see in the red shift of galaxies today.

    Man evolved from apes (when I go to the zoo I can see that the ape is still an ape)

    And you don’t see the similarities? Wow. And we did not evolve from apes – humans and apes share common ancestry.

    Global warming…(look it up)

    A global warming denialist. You’re an ostrich, man. Go out to the mountains and compare the extent of glaciers today with photos of the same glaciers taken over the decades. Almost all are receding. Then try to tell me climate change isn’t happening.

    • Timothy Alchemy Freeman July 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

      Why is everyone here arguing theories… They just recently found that the Big bang theory is incorrect. Because the theory suggests that everything slows down and eventually goes back to its source… But instead of slowing down, everything has actually increased its speed away from the center.

      But did they really find out that the big bang theory is wrong???
      Maybe they may find out they were wrong again with a new finding and that the big bang is actually correct. But with our current science it is actually incorrect. But does it really matter? That is for each of us to decide I guess. Furthermore, science and theories are constantly changing. So I take it all with a grain of salt. What it boils down to… Is what we as individuals choose to believe. After all, our knowledge of science is comparable to way less than 0.0000000000000001% of space explored or the less than 1% of the ocean explored. (I’m trying to think outside the box as I say this by using science fiction to compare myself to another life such as UFOs(Aliens) who have science far superior to ours, assuming they exist. I mean what would the be thinking reading this… I am sure they would be laughing at both the Christians and Atheists…Maybe the Atheist is completely off the truth.. Maybe the Christians are completely off the truth…. Or both are completely off. Maybe these Aliens are the Angels and doctrine went out of whack in the hands of humans. Does it matter?)

      And the Bible is most definitely not a science book for sure. Its primarily a guide on life. Like many other scriptural books from all different kinds of religions. And thus are important to humanity. Furthermore, Science can never disprove or prove the Bible correct and can never get rid of its importance.

      Anywho, arguing things that one does not know for sure is ridiculous. But a Christian, atheist, Buddhist, Muslim, Jain, Daoist, etc. stating his or her facts, why they chose to believe them, and caring about another persons state of mind or well being is completely fine. For example, if one believes that a persons how will burst into flames if he or she enters because of some trap… That person is entitled to warn the owner of the house but never never never force that person to not enter the house just because of some belief… Someone shouldn’t force them to enter even if they knew that it was trapped. Always let the other man decide. It is his life, right?

      I personally see it as people caring about me. And I personally like the Bible. I chose to have faith in it and because I faith in it I chose to blindly follow what it says about how to live a decent life… And it has helped me tremendously . It was my choice to do this. I thoroughly love and agreed with the Bible… It made me happy. Should one really take that away from me???

  10. Shamelessly Atheist January 26, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh, by the way, a circle IS flat.

  11. David H Mercier January 26, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    I heard Krauss once, he gave a lecture on the beginning of the universe and discredited himself when he dropped the f bomb..” were all f***ed” were the first words out of his mouth, he said that because he knows he’s going to hell. I turned it off, foul language doesn’t pass my intellectual standard.

    An ape is an ape, consistency in design, a dog has similarities to an ape and that doesn’t mean the ape turned into the dog over time. The fact that the ape still exist proves that it didn’t turn into anything over time.

    a circle is not a sphere, the earth is a sphere it may look like a circle from the distance but it is round and has volume, chug in Hebrew

    Nothing cannot produce something. give it some thought.

    Here’s your “science” fiction for ya.
    http://redeemthetime.net/2010/01/25/global-warming-scientist-used-false-data/

    “Science” has been proven untrustworthy, climategate…hello! if they lie to us about the ending (global warming, we’re all going to die) how can I trust them with the beginning? (evolution)

    I’ll leave you with this and I’m done
    http://redeemthetime.net/the-existence-of-god/

    btw the glaciers expanding and contracting is normal..it happens on Mars.

    • Timothy Alchemy Freeman July 23, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

      When it comes to global warming…I don’t really care who is right. All i know is that one of them is guaranteed to be right. SO for me. I don’t want to look back and say O crap… I was wrong. Furthermore, I will choose the safe path by making absolutely sure that I am not a cause of global warming. When one day people find out global warming was false then I would just be looked at as a person who simply cared about the people of the future. But if one day Global warming is known fact and the world goes to hell because of it. I will not have that blood on my hands.

      My philosophy… If one does not know the answers choose the path one will most definitely be able to avoid someone saying, “I told you so.” Or choose the path that can at least make my heart feel at ease.

      • Timothy Alchemy Freeman July 23, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

        Nothing cannot produce something? What would God think? And how would you know for sure that it is not possible? Are you God? That is the same as someone saying, “Because I Have not seen it or can not study it, there is no after life, it’s simple if u see the man who dies he is simply dead…” Do not speak of that which you do not know… That was written in the Bible my friend.

        And as for the statement about Krauss… This world is not perfect and I have yet to meet a man who has lived a perfect life. Why does a imperfect man judge a man for being imperfect. And why does a imperfect man uplift himself over the other? Furthermore, that should never have stopped a man from listening to what another man has to say and that should never have stopped a man from treating another man on equal grounding. You could have seriously missed something important to contemplate on.

        Even Jesus talked with and listened to all.

        Yes, it is true that science is not accurate and not 100% trustworthy. Our science is taken care of by human beings and man is not perfect. You O man, what makes what you say better than what a man says who has studies, research, and data that has been painstakingly acquired to the best of his or her abilities?

        Again these conversations, theories, and such are an endless war. I see many men in the darkness arguing and causing discord and strife for nothing. Google the Parable of the Elephant and you will understand what I mean.

  12. Charlie February 26, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Without plowing through all the other responses, GP, as a Christian, I must say I agree with you. Recognizing that Atheists do not recognize the Bible as any authority more important or significant than a Dr. Seus book, perhaps less than some, (I love the Lorax, myself) It makes no rational sense to argue a point with, “Well, God’s Word says in (etc. etc.)” and expect my argument to be taken seriously. If we cannot use reason, perhaps using the Bible as a reference but not as an argument clincher (the all-important supreme source) then perhaps our arguments are not worth listening to.

    Best regards as always,

    -Charlie

  13. Charlie February 26, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    P.S., the photo is really funny! Discussions on the use of scripture in arguments aside, the whole genre of ‘Christian Fiction’ amazes and sometimes concerns me. What, we Christians can’t have our holy minds cluttered up with the classics? We must -only- read and enjoy ‘approved’ Christian fiction??!!! Puh-lease!!!!

    As always,

    -Charlie

  14. Gauss April 8, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    I found the post and the comments very interesting.
    The bible is not a magic book, indeed it is the best seller on earth.
    Unfortunately some christians use the bible as you describe in your post: as a magical item that can not be even accidentally kicked. It is not the paper and ink but the words it contains that make it powerful. Words that have been lasted thousands of years. Words that encouraged millions of people to live even when life conditions are barely possible.

    However bible words are not precise as scientific papers instead they are simple but reveals universal laws that applies to any human being. Have you tried to read the bible as a book? As you read Harry Potter? I am sure you will find wonderful stories and help you to understand phrases from Dumbledore. 
    I found the post and the comments very interesting.
    The bible is not a magic book, indeed it is the best seller on earth.
    Unfortunately some christians use the bible as you describe in your post: as a magical item that can not be even accidentally kicked. It is not the paper and ink but the words it contains that make it powerful. Words that have been lasted thousands of years. Words that encouraged millions of people to live even when life conditions are barely possible.
    However bible words are not precise as scientific papers instead they are simple but reveals universal laws that applies to any human being. Have you tried to read the bible as a book? As you read Harry Potter? I bet you will find phrases similar to Dumbledore ones. Start with book of Ruth, it is one of the shortest but the story will keep you until the end, plus it will help you think about everyday life. 
    I understand and respect your feelings about people that use bible versicles as authority arguments. But please see that the person is not alone, there are millions of people that do use bible words as guidance for their life’s. When a christian use a bible versicle during a conversation is because these words are part of this person reality. I am sure you frequently use phrases from Harry Potter’s book. The only difference is that you know Harry Potter world does not exist  but christians know bible stories are real. Christians do live in a world of everyday  Miracles and the presence of  God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit is part of our life. For us the bible is a guide, a book to read and understand the universe beyond.  Bible words have the power of change lives, but the bible as a book it is not a magical object. Your post reflect the feelings of someone that was hurt by the misuse of the bible words. I suggest you to forgive the people who tried to convince you that the bible book is magical and READ the bible yourself. Then, let me know if you still think the bible does not matter.

  15. Terrence June 9, 2014 at 8:05 am #

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you
    have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently
    about. Now i’m very happy I found this in my search for something relating to this.

  16. Timothy Alchemy Freeman July 23, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

    Very true, I am a Christian myself and never understood this either. Using verses in the Bible is only okay if the person one is helping cares about, believes, or respects the Bible. If one simply wants nothing to do with it, using the verses in a Bible to prove the Bible correct… Means absolutely nothing.

  17. Timothy Alchemy Freeman July 24, 2014 at 12:07 am #

    TO help A Christian understand… I will pretend to be a Satanist…

    The Bible is wrong! My Bible is Correct! It says in the Bible of Satan in Lucifer 3:3-5 , “The word of God is nothing and means nothing, For who so ever chooses to have faith in false hope will find no protection from the Benevolent Dragon. The Dragon who only wants to preserve all life on this planet and maintain balance.”

    Would you who are Christian believe in the authenticity of this Satanic Bible just because I read these verses?

    Again just reminding that I am Christian and do not believe the above thing that I had wrote. I just wanted to make my Point.

    Furthermore, I believe that reading the Bible is good, and that God is AMAZING but being simple minded and insensitive to other peoples thoughts and beliefs is fruitless.

Leave a Reply

