I got to talk to christians today

21 Oct

A little while ago I talked about a “skeptic’s group” hosted at my college by the Lynchburg Christian Fellowship in this kinda irate post. The entire day I was extremely nervous, not because I wasn’t sure in my reasoning or arguments, but because I hate confrontation.

I came up with a list of questions and walked into the place with my stomach in knots expecting a fight. The group consisted of myself, the pastor and his friend, an agnostic girl who was curious about christianity and helped organize this, and another guy who’s having a little trouble figuring everything out.

To my surprise, the place was much more relaxed than I thought it would be. I don’t think they figured out I wasn’t a believer into about 40 minutes into the session. Even after that they seemed pretty nice. If anyone is wondering, no I didn’t get converted :-p Not in the least. I think the best thing I took away from it was being able to interact in a friendly way with people who I completely disagree. Most of the interactions I have with christians, well, talking with them about religion, is on the internet, and that changes he discussion a little.

The main problem I had was that they kept deflecting my questions and not answering them. The pastor kept talking about how “well logic might say X, but we can’t really go with logic here”….. Logic is wrong? Really? <sigh>

3 Responses to “I got to talk to christians today”

  1. James October 25, 2009 at 7:20 am #

    Hey, godless, I just read this article online that I thought you might be interested in. It talks about the Mexican gang La Familia. Oh, and get this: they are evangelical Christian gangsters that peddle meth into the U.S. by the hundreds of pounds. Talk about a double-whammy as far as being extraordinarily misguided goes.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/time/08599193203000

  2. Christine September 19, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    is he talking about logic like, “love isn’t logical” or is he talking about it like, “oh well, science says the earth is old but if I think God says something different I have to believe that”

    Also, logic only takes you so far when it comes to the practical and every day. Is it logical to tell your friend the truth? Yes. And you could get away with telling the truth and be logical but you’d be a jackass. Telling the truth “in love”, for example, as Jesus commands, requires gentleness, patience, kindness, and wisdom. We aren’t just computers giving and taking commands, the human heart is a complex thing.

    etc. etc.

    Ok blogrant done.

    I found your blog linked at the end of my most recent post. Off I go now. Good day, sir 🙂

  3. godlesspaladin September 20, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    He was talking about logic in the sense of “oh, I know it’s logical and self-evident that X is true, but my emotions and the bible tell me to believe Y”

    The example you gave of telling your friend the truth is not an example of what logic is. Nowhere does logic dictate that we go around acting like robots, indifferent to the effects on people’s emotions. Logic deals with how we know what we know and the validity of ideas, not if you should be honest or dishonest.

Leave a Reply

