Keep it to yourself

5 Oct

Some might think that I hate religion. I don’t hate it. I think that it is silly and illogical, but I don’t hate it. What I hate with a burning passion is when people take their beliefs and then try to enforce them on those who do not have the same beliefs. I honestly think the world would be a better place if people just kept their beliefs in their hearts, homes, and houses of worship. That’s something worth fighting for.

But no, unfortunately there just seems to be a natural desire in people to control other people and enforce their beliefs on them. Take abortion for example. Just this morning I was listening to NPR and they were talking about how a group of catholic bishops were worried that healthcare reform might lead to support for abortion.

You know what bishops? If you’re not comfortable with women having complete dominion over their bodies, keep it to yourself and your flock, but don’t you dare try and enforce that on people who don’t subscribe to your views.

I feel that raising a child to believe they are a sinner and need an invisible man to save them from eternal torture is child abuse, but I don’t come into your church and tell you that, so stay out of my clinic.  You have no right to tell me how I should live, and you damned as well don’t have the right to force me to conform to your ideas.

How would you feel if you were in the minority, and a self-righteous majority were telling you that what you believe is wrong, and they not only are they morally superior, they’re going to enforce their beliefs on you! Hell! You’d probably fight tooth and nail for your freedom from their oppression.

Instead of killing each other, why don’t we keep our beliefs to ourselves? I’ll live in peace my way, and you live in peace your way. I won’t tell you how to do things, and you don’t tell me how to do things. I’ll keep my beliefs about banning Sunday school out of the government if you keep your beliefs about woman out of the government.

One Response to “Keep it to yourself”

  1. Alex Schroeder October 11, 2009 at 6:06 am #

    The problem is that a true believer thinks you’ll have all eternity to thank him no matter what you’re saying right right now. To them, it is always worth fighting for your soul!

Leave a Reply

