The natural state of things

29 Sep

It’s so hard to do anything, there is so much resistance to everything. Water will eventually wash away soil no matter how hard the soil tries to resist. It’s the natural state of things. Buildings will eventually crumble and fall, it’s the natural state of things. Everyone you love will eventually die, it’s the natural state of things.  The universe will eventually spread out and cool down into cold dead nothingness, it’s the natural state of things.

There are just so many things that if left by themselves will revert back to the natural state of shit and nothingness. It’s a fight to do anything. Even gravity is against you. I put a pencil on a desk and it rolls off and falls, and so I must bend down and fight gravity to pull it back from its natural state. I know that sounds trivial, but it’s the little things that get me down.

Day in and day out, not getting anywhere, it’s a struggle just to get out of bed. My body aches and I’m tired, I’d much rather revert back to being in bed, but I must fight the forces trying to keep me down to go out and perform meaningless tasks.

I used to be all “I want to save the world and help people”, now I’m not sure. It seems that the world is just spinning down the drain, and any attempts to make things better are ultimately pointless. So why fight it? Things in life are naturally shit. Starvation, suffering, and death are the natural states for millions around the world. Masses of people will naturally do stupid shit, like vote republican. Why fight it? Yes they will do stupid stuff, and yes they will suffer for it, but they are so fickle and possess such a short term memory that they will continue to repeat the same mistakes and expect different results. It’s just natural for them. Shit is the natural state of things.

As much as it seems reasonable to just go with the flow and be evil, I can’t. It’s my natural state to be a good person, and so I lament all the shit in the world, but I feel unable to do anything to stop the natural state of things. I think I would be happier if I was indifferent to other people’s suffering. It would make living in this world as we slowly circle the drain easier.

3 Responses to “The natural state of things”

  1. Alex Schroeder October 11, 2009 at 6:01 am #

    I feel your pain. A few years ago I raged a lot against the USA, Israel, the situation in Palestine, Iran, and Iraq. Then I realized I was not going to make a difference since I had decided not to be a politician. So now I donate money to some worthy causes and play lots of games, watch no news on TV, read Le Monde Diplomatique which has monthly news without all the people stories, and I have no children. The anger was relaplaced with a certain cynicism. That’s unfortunate but I knew no other way.

    • godlesspaladin October 11, 2009 at 10:13 am #

      Yeah, I think that’s the only thing I can do. There are elections coming up and I’m afraid my side is going to lose because the the economic mess started by the other side, if that happens I’ll lose all faith in humanity….

  2. Alex Schröder October 11, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    I actually found the blog post I wrote back then when I decided to no longer give a shit.

Leave a Reply

