Congressional republicans want everything to fail

9 Sep

I want to first make the distinction between congressional republicans and your average citizen republican. I think they are two different groups of people.

I can’t help but get the feeling that the republicans that hold elected office just want everything in the country to fail while Obama is in charge. Ever since he got elected they have turned into the party of “no”. They shoot down every idea the democrats come up with, and in turn they offer no ideas.

I feel Obama has gone out of his way to try and include the republicans in the healthcare debate, but so far it has only been to his detriment. The republicans see that he is trying to reach out to them and so they halfheartedly offer up ideas nobody in their right mind would agree with. When the democrats naturally veto the bad ideas, the republicans cry foul and say Obama isn’t being bi-partisan. If Obama DID accept their ideas, when he implemented them they would fail (the republicans know this) and then the GOP would point and shout “Look! Look! Obama’s ideas are failing! Vote Republican!” It’s a win win situation for them.

So the republicans bide their time pussy-footing around, stalling, all to the country’s detriment. They don’t care that their constituents are suffering, that America is swamped with problems. To them they only have to wait it out 4 years, and try to make those 4 years as horrible as possible. As long as they can point out that Obama is in charge during all the problems.

It really makes me feel bad for the republicans who voted for them. The average republican doesn’t want Obama to fail, for if Obama fails the country suffers. They have jobs and families to worry about. They can’t just sit around on $165,200 congressional pay checks for 4 years. They need help now, and their representatives don’t want to give it to them.

2 Responses to “Congressional republicans want everything to fail”

  1. Oli September 12, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    GP, I agree. I am a usta-be-a-conservtive. I bought for quite a while all the talk they do on preserving and caring for the family. I observed over time that their talk was just that; talk. It’s nothing more. What they REALLY care about is maintaining their power base for whatever reason ranging from getting rich over the bloody bodies of America’s youth to forcing their social and quasi-religious agenda on everyone else who does not want it. I am not a full fledged liberal either, as I see some of the same tendencies there as well. It occured to me the best to stay active in the political process and try to hold the feet of both ideologies to the fire of accountability for the greater good of the nation and the balance of our freedom and individualism and that of necessary sacrifice for the benefit of all.

    Best regards,

    -Oli

  2. godlesspaladin September 12, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Thanks for the excellent comment Oli. 🙂 I’ve had a similar experience. Back in highschool I bought into all the talk of the liberal politicians, quite naively I must say, and it was a big shock to me when in 2006 nothing changed. As I’ve grown and met new people with various view points my position on several issues has shifted towards the middle. I’m now more wary of both sides.

Leave a Reply

