Liberal = college student

5 Sep

A couple of friends of mine made this remark to me a while back on facebook and it has pissed me off ever since. They told me that I was only a liberal because I was a college student.

I guess they were trying to imply that I’m naive about how the world works and elitist for getting an education past highschool. There are several things that make their remark pure bullshit. Mainly, not all college students are liberals, and not all liberals are college students.

A 2004 study by the Pew Research Center identified 19 percent of Americans as liberal. According to the study, liberals were the most affluent and educated ideological demographic. Of those who identified as liberal, 49 percent were college graduates and 41 percent had household incomes exceeding $75,000, compared to 27 and 28 percent at the national average, respectively. Source

Only around 29% of Americans have a college degree. If liberals make up only 19% of the population, then not all college students are liberals. As for passing liberals off as young children who don’t know any better, you only need to look around to see that that is bullshit. All liberals are not young. There are plenty who are older. Here is a list of all the older liberals in congress. Now given, my friends who made this comment live in a conservative area of Virginia, so there might not be that many liberals around, but there are enough liberals in other states to carry both branches of government in the last election, and the youth vote alone is not big enough to do that against all other voting blocks, so therefore not all youths are liberal.

6 Responses to “Liberal = college student”

  1. Driftingfocus September 5, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    I cannot stand the claim that people are liberal because they went to college. One of the reenacting units my boyfriend and I belong to is predictably conservative, and one of the nicknames for my guy is “college boy”, because we’re the only two people in the unit who have a college education. Surprise surprise, we’re also the only two liberals in the unit as well. They say we’re liberal because we went to that “liberal institution” known as college (my boyfriend is apparently particularly offensive because he went to *gasp* graduate school). I often try to make the point that hm, maybe the fact that the more educated are generally more liberal is a sign that, I dunno, it’s SMARTER to be liberal? Just maybe?

    I hear you loud and clear on this one.

  2. godlesspaladin September 5, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Ironically, the friends on facebook that made this remark are the people who are also in my reenactment unit. I’m also the only liberal in the unit, and I’m not sure if any of them have a college education. But yeah, it does make you wonder, if getting an education makes you smarter,and the majority of people who have educations (and thus are smarter) are liberals, then liberal ideas are probably more intelligent ideas than those created by people without an education.

  3. Oli September 7, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    GP, I would have to point to the difference between intelligence and knowledge. I would suggest that we who are college students are not necessarily smarter (more intelligent) than our more conservative friends who have not gone to college, but rather that we have been exposed to a wider variety of information than they, and thus have formed or modified our opinions accordingly.

    People I have encountered who have not gone to college often see it as a place where we become indoctrinated into a way of thinking, usually Liberal, as we both have been told. I suggest to them, often unsuccessfully, that it is rather a place where most of us learn to test and evaluate ideas and think for ourselves. I believe the difference may be there. We are not necessarily smarter or more intelligent, we have just learned more how to evaluate information and think our own thoughts about it and then been given access to very much more information than we had before. What do you think?

    Your friend the not-liberal, not-conservative Egalitarian,

    -Oli

    • godlesspaladin September 7, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

      Hey Oli, yes, I think I will agree with you there. Poor wording on my count. There is definitely a difference between intelligence and knowledge. A friend of mine’s father never went to college, yet he is very intelligent. (He also now manages his own moving business and has more money than he knows what to do with :p)

  4. Brian September 12, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    Anyone who is under 30 and isn’t a liberal has no heart.

    Anyone over 30 and still a liberal has no brain. 😉

    (Just for the record, as a troll, I keep my heart in a jar. I have been known to vote Republican on occasion. The jar’s so freakin’ lib, it often votes for the Green party.)

    In my experience, the reason people assume college kids are libs is because most college profs are assumed to be libs. That makes college something of a reinforcing lib hothouse, an echo-chamber were conservative voices and opinions are rarely heard. I can’t say if that’s the case at Lynchburg, but it was mostly true at UT when I was there.

  5. godlesspaladin September 12, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    It’s a mixed bag at Lynchburg. At “liberty” “university” however they’ve simplified the argument for their students by banning democrats. In order to teach there you have to sign off that you’re a christian (as defined by them) and a republican. :-\

Leave a Reply

