I’m not like this is real life

18 Aug

Some people have made comments to the effect that I’m rather abrasive and rude on my blog. Yes, sometimes I am. But I’m not like that at all in real life. In real life I’m much more polite and reserved. I never bring up religion or politics unless someone else does first. And even if they do, I try to be respectful and polite while still holding firm to my values. I’m actually a really nice person who will go out of my way to help a stranger.

On my blog I’m different. Here I’m not bound by etiquette. I’m not dealing with people I see face to face on a daily basis. Here I am able to write behind a screen of anonymity. Here I let off  pressure without consequence. As such I don’t censure myself here on my own blog.

But in real life I’m different.

5 Responses to “I’m not like this is real life”

  1. Shamelessly Atheist August 18, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    I’m like that as well. Much more caustic in my blogs and comments than I am in person. And that’s the problem. Blogging has a bit of a depersonalizing effect. I focus in on the ideas presented, whether it is constructive, baseless opinion or downright stupid, and react to that rather than take the other person into consideration as I would face-to-face.

  2. Shamelessly Atheist August 18, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    But I’m trying to turn over a new leaf. Really I am.

  3. godlesspaladin August 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    I’ve been trying to for a while as well. :-\ I think I wrote a post ages back about trying to be more relaxed and polite….I just keep forgetting about that…

  4. Shamelessly Atheist August 18, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    It’s easy to slip back, isn’t it?

  5. Oddysey August 18, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    You’re so much cuddlier in real life. 😉

Leave a Reply

