How you play the game

7 Jul

I grew up playing the RTS series Age of Empires. In the last installment, Age of Empires III I was a “no rush” player. The game had the option to set a “treaty time” before the match. During this time players could not build outside of a certain radius, nor could units attack.

I, and a lot of other people, really enjoyed this style of play. It allowed us to build up and utilize all of the features that came with the game, not to mention really fun massive battles. However,  “No Rush” players as they were called came under attack from “rush” players. Rush players saw “no rush” games as a bastardization of their game, rules for wimps and noobs. They enjoyed the frantic pace of trying to get as many units up as quick as you could to destroy the other guy as fast as you could. By nature these games were fast, short, and only utilized a fraction of the available features of the game.

Rush players often complained that no rush games lacked strategy, that they “were done building up” within 7-8 minutes, and didn’t like the idea of waiting around 30 minutes to play. Oddly enough, when rush players put their money where their mouth was, they often got their ass handed to them by seasoned no rush players. There was strategy involved, just not what rush players were used to.

In single player games, my friends often give me a hard time for using cheats. Now before you make a judgement, hear me out. I play two types of games with every game I play. I play it honestly, and then I cheat. Usually I have two different saves. I don’t see anything wrong with this, but my friends do.

First off, it’s my game, I can play it however I like. (Keep in mind I don’t cheat in multiplayer) Secondly, what is the purpose of a game? To have FUN. Remember fun? Sometimes I have fun playing a game straight, sometimes I have fun playing with cheats and steam rolling my opponents. Sometimes I have fun playing with a different rule set (no rush games).

I don’t see why people feel they need to tell me I’m playing the game wrong if I’m having fun. Why must I play it your way if that way is not fun to me? It defeats the very purpose of playing! Live and let live, play and let play.

2 Responses to “How you play the game”

  1. James November 8, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    Personally, I enjoyed all aspects of that game, rush or no rush, the style of play never really mattered to me, though I tended to lean toward rushing because that was the way most people online at the old MSN gaming zone used to prefer to play. If it was a big game, like 4 vs 4, I would like to be one of the middle players on the map and rush in the castle age with knights; it’s really quite surprising what you can do with just 3 knights to another person’s economy if they’ve failed to put up adequate defenses (i.e., pikemen, walls, and towers). Man, I really do miss that game. What was your favorite civilization if you don’t mind my asking? Mine was the Britons or Huns.

  2. CJ December 10, 2009 at 3:45 am #

    @James

    Knights? That’s way too advanced. =P
    Remember good old AoE1 and axe men.. Just build 3 barracks and send as many as possible. Could take out 3 slow players easy that way.

    In AoE2, go Turks with Janissary’s, upgrade them. Knights go down in one volley. Britons Longbowmen are ok, but I still prefer muskets to bows.

    @OP

    If you like cheats, then cheat. I myself think cheating isn’t fun, it makes it too boring. Although I’m someone who only ever plays on expert so..

    AoE3 is extremely fun tho. Those massive cannons that can level a town center in 3 shots.. Or factories and banks, declare a revolution and Gatling your way around the map.. Good game.

    I’d agree with the No Rush is more fun, if it’s just a rush, then it gets boring. Axemen rush, lame. If there’s time to build up defences and get unit production going, it’s then highly challenging. You can’t waltz through their town center and two buildings, you have to take out the castles, walls, towers, army, reinforcements, etc, before you get near winning. Or feint and stealth. Either way. 😀

Leave a Reply

