Steampunk fail dice

23 Jun

Anyone who knows me knows that I love to work with my hands and build things. I spend a good amount of my free time crafting various….things. More often than not the things I make are of a decorative nature. They also tend to be geeky in their origin.

For example, the latest things I’ve made have been a small companion cube, aperture science baking apron, glowing water tube lights, 2 dice trays, secret anniversary present for the lady, and now my steam punk failure dice.

You see, I had a lot of left over materials from the aforementioned anniversary present. Having finished that project, I didn’t know what to do with myself, so I picked up a new project.

I originally planned on making her a d20 die. After spending two hours relearning geometry I hadn’t used in years,  finally correctly scaling an equilateral triangle, and cutting out 5 pieces, I started to regret my choice of the d20.

Luckily she told me that a d8 was her favorite die so that saved me some work. After cutting all the pieces, I carefully glued them together to *try* and get the shape. I stained all the wood a cherry red, then lined the edges with brass. (This time I managed not to slit my finger open like I did last time working with brass). To top it all off, I found some aluminium in the recycling bin and cut out little Roman numerals for the numbers. I considered putting aluminium tips on all 6 corners, but that would require about another hour of figuring out a pattern, then cutting the metal, then trying to bend it into a 4 sided pyramid shape, and it’s already 4:30am…..

So without further ado, here is my d8 failure steam punk die.

fail 1

fail 2

The cement glue makes it look kinda crappy, but it’s better in real life. I also copied my actual d8 and put all the evens on the top row and all the odds on the bottom. The die itself is extremely light, since it is hollow. I’ve rolled it around a bit and I can’t tell if it’s bias to any particular numbers. I bet you could use i it in game if you wanted, but it’s mainly just for fun.

In the future I’d like to make light up dice lanterns….

One Response to “Steampunk fail dice”

  1. Tom Clarke March 19, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Sir,
    I like your dice. I too enjoy crafting things and often the smaller the harder it is to do. They look good.
    I do have to differ with you though on your analysis of things. As an engineer, one of the topics that I studied in Thermodynamics class was energy. The Second Law of Thermodynamics states that all things, systems, are, left on their own, in a continual state of decay. Things tend to go from a state of more complexity, more order, to less complexity or order. In the example of the dice you are the one who caused those materials, those elements, to be changed into something new, more complex.
    You are also made of elements so is the beautiful Redwood tree that you pictured. Who caused you to become more complex after your conception? Who caused the tree to grow into such a magnificent structure?

    I see great beauty in the things that you bring to mind. The tree is now my wallpaper on my computer. Thanks for posting it.

    I believe that Chance cannot make a tree, or cool dice.

    Best Regards,

    Tom Clarke

Leave a Reply

