Baby’s first game

18 Jun

So last night was my first game with Trollsmyth. As mentioned earlier I was pretty excited to the run up.

The game starts out with our characters fleeing from Pitsh after a ghoul attack. The whole time I’m thinking “Oh god, oh god, my buffalo, what about my water buffalo?” (My char started out with a water buffalo btw) My fear and dread left my sinister girlfriend much amused. ~_^

Luckily the DM was merciful and the water buffalo *miraculously* made it through the night with us. (In fact, he took over the water buffalo as an NPC, wonder if he’s ever been able to play as a water buffalo before?)

Well we find this dark scary hole in the floor of a building we took refuge in and naturally decided to go exploring in it. Unfortunately, the water buffalo couldn’t come with us. I told Hercula to hide up top and I can only hope that she’s there when we get up there.

(Oh yeah, I changed my water buffalo’s sex to female because I figured if it was a male, the DM was going to find a way to mess with it. Most likely having it go crazy if another female water buffalo came along. He might be aware of the rumor that Saladin had is warriors ride mares to drive the crusader’s male horses crazy. I didn’t want something like this to happen to me, so I made her a cow. Plus, the milk might be useful)

Anyways, we go down into the dungeon and start exploring the rooms. It’s at this point that I want to hit myself. I never really gave my character any good dungeoning equipment. She doesn’t have a lantern or a torch, and she doesn’t have a 10 foot pole. *facepalm* I end up huddling around the other 2 players.

Luckily for me, my girlfriend, one of the other players, was visiting last night. I was able to watch her map the place, which came in handy a lot. There were several points where I got mixed up and didn’t know where I was.  At one point I was fruitlessly trying to pick the lock on an extremely large door with a sewing needle, thinking there was no other ways forward except one. (There happened to be other doors a few rooms back that I had missed)

We found a room full of fire beetle things, a room full of jars, and a room full of bats. But scariest of all was the room with a 16ft snake in it. Luckily one of the chars was a gnome, and was able to charm the snake into not eating us. Unfortunately we had to stop shortly after that. It was midnight and the girl and I were tired.

As we fell asleep, all I could think of was that snake…..and how I hope there isn’t a snake with a water buffalo sized bump in it’s side when we return up top…..

I would cry...

3 Responses to “Baby’s first game”

  1. Oddysey June 18, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    “My sinister girlfriend”?

    Hmph.

  2. Brian June 19, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Is there any other kind? 😉

  3. Whereisyourgodnow June 30, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    That picture will haunt my dreams..

Leave a Reply

