Sometimes I wish I had a religion

27 May

Sometimes I wish I had a religion, just to be able to claim all the crap modern religions do. For example, there is a scene in Angels and Demons where one of the Vatican police officers warns Robert Langdon to watch his tongue inside the holy Vatican city. Sometimes I wish I had a religion so I could do that. Imagine, being able to tell religious people that they must hold their tongues and be respectful inside a science museum! Damn that would feel good.

But unfortunately science doesn’t work like that. Science by nature wants you to question! Religions ask you to hold your tongue.

I wish that I could have special holidays that I could take off class/work, with party napkins and special cards, along with sales and “Happy _________” signs.

It would be nice to just  demand blanket respect for my views, and my restrictions on criticizing me put into law. I’d be nice to claim a monopoly on morality and influence the government to enact policies we deem acceptable. It’d be nice to have my faith on the currency and in the pledge too.

It’d be nice to have a list of holy sites and symbols, along with old and sometimes secretive orders. All this would be awesome. Especially the respect and influencing law part.

5 Responses to “Sometimes I wish I had a religion”

  1. godlesspaladin May 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Ja, vielleicht. :-p

  2. spacefoetus May 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    “Sometimes I wish I had a religion, just to be able to claim all the crap modern religions do. For example, there is a scene in Angels and Demons where one of the Vatican police officers warns Robert Langdon to watch his tongue inside the holy Vatican city. Sometimes I wish I had a religion so I could do that. Imagine, being able to tell religious people that they must hold their tongues and be respectful inside a science museum! Damn that would feel good.

    But unfortunately science doesn’t work like that. Science by nature wants you to question! Religions ask you to hold your tongue”

    I’m curious as to your thoughts on libraries…

    • godlesspaladin May 27, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

      Hahaha, I guess the same would apply for libraries. However libraries might be a bit tricky since not every book in them is supposed to be educational.

  3. Kris November 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Science may, by nature, want you to question, but it doesn’t want you to question the big bang, or how dinosaurs really died. They just want you to believe the hypothesis that works for them. It might not be true for every scientist, but it seems that mainstream science has its own set of rules it wants people to follow.

Leave a Reply

