An Atheist’s take on Angels and Demons

15 May

*Spoiler Warning*

So I must admit up front that I didn’t read either of the books, just watched the movies. I went with some friends to see it this morning at midnight. It was kind of spur of the moment really, I was going to go see Star Trek with them, but we missed the movie time and decided to see this instead. I was really kind of nervous to see it with them considering how one of the friends I was with is EXTREMELY religious (albeit protestant).

I had a few fears entering the movie, namely that A) the movie would demonize Atheists and scientists (which looking back on it was a completely silly fear) and B) that Tom Hanks would “find god” by the end of the movie and stop being an Atheist, because we all know Atheists eventually come to their senses /sarcasm.

As the movie progressed, I started to think fear A was coming true. The “evil” illuminati Atheists were kidnapping and killing cardinals, and threatening to blow up Rome. I was really distraught, I kept thinking to myself “No! Humanists like the illuminati don’t do this shit! We don’t do the crap the religious do to eachother!” Needless to say, I was very happy at the end of the movie when it was revealed that the whole “scientists are trying to kill us and blow up the city” thing was really an inside job by Camerlengo Patrick McKenna (Ewan McGregor)

I was also happy that Tom Hanks didn’t “come to god” at the end of the movie. I can’t tell you how much shit like that irratates me. Atheists and skeptics are always villified in movies. In horror movies, the skeptic is usually killed off first, as punishment for not believing in the supernatural thing out to kill him, or eventually comes to believe in the ridiculous just like all the other characters. In none horror movies, they usually are “shown the light” and abandon their Atheists views by the end of the movie. (Like “I am Legend”)

2 Responses to “An Atheist’s take on Angels and Demons”

  1. isnessie May 18, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    I loved the movie because I think it gave a sympathetic nod to both parties. It wasn’t so much a biased message as a commentary on the issues involved, coupled with high-action entertainment. It wasn’t predictable.

  2. oddinnuendo May 18, 2009 at 1:50 am #

    I was very disappointed by I Am Legend’s ending. I feared that Angels and Demons would be similar, but from your review I guess not!

    Have you seen Knowing? Nicholas Cage plays the role of an Atheist, a rational scientist – and rumor has it that the movie is based on Scientology. Good movie to watch if you really want to get wound up.

Leave a Reply

