To win we must take blows

5 May

This might be one of my more controversial posts. The last post I made was on the subject of discrimination against Atheists in the United States.  Atheists are in a sort of limbo right now. (Pun not intended) The discrimination is there, it just is at a level that is still acceptable to the majority of the population.

This is the horrible part: In order for the discrimination of Atheists to gain public attention, and to be deemed unacceptable, we need to suffer a series of hate crimes, just like blacks and homosexuals. These hate crimes need to be clear and well publicised.

Trust me, I’m disgusted by the thought of my felllow Atheists being attacked in this way, but nobody is going to take discrimination against us seriously until the religious start persecuting us more forcefully in this country.

Just some food for thought. (Even though the idea makes me sick)

7 Responses to “To win we must take blows”

  1. awfrick May 5, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    I think the atheists in this country are perpetually growing, so as those numbers increase, you’ll probably see more abuse from the religious as a sort of ‘last ditch’ effort.

    Just my prediction.

  2. godlesspaladin May 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Yeah, I’m inclined to agree with you. With more and more numbers, people are going to get sick of being the scapegoat start to rise up in protest, sparking backlash from the believers.

  3. Turtle__Dove May 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    Christians are persecuted more than atheists, at least they’re not put to death (are they?). I see it from the other spectrum. When I picked up the cross I also picked up the “frame” that people put Christians. No one should be persecuted for their beliefs, no matter how strongly they feel about them.

  4. Mad Brew May 7, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    Stumbled across the site via your DM girlfriend from twitter about the arms & armor rant (which I totally agree with), but the atheism category immediately drew my eye. Hopefully you can excuse my comment book.

    I’m not an atheist (any more), my stance having morphed into Agnostic Theism. I do share your concerns about discrimination and attitude towards the “godless” population, having been subjected to such discrimination in the past.

    I served in the Marine Corps for 4 honorable years in the infantry, and I remember filling out the information for religious preference that they stick on your dog tags. When I informed them that I was atheist, the drill instructor promptly responded that there are no atheists in foxholes and had them stamp “Protestant” on those tags. Later, I had an opportunity to stamp my own, and proudly imprinted “atheist” though it caused an uproar later during an inspection.

    While I would like to believe the numbers of atheists & agnostic citizens (yes Bush, we are in fact citizens) are increasing, it just seems to me like the shallow end of the gene pool (which is drawn to religious belief structures) are just breeding at a faster rate, keeping the non-religious sector at a consistant, small percentage.

    However, I would definitely like to see some studies on the demographics of religion over time as well as average IQ/education of religious memberships.

    @Turtle__Dove: Oh I think Christains (with Muslims coming in not far behind) have done most of the persecuting in the past 2000 years, so I guess they are reaping what they have sewn if your comment could actually hold water.

    Anyways, keep up the good fight, I don’t hide my views and refuse to have someone else’s belief structure forced upon me.

  5. Bob May 7, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    To tell you the truth I believe that that “Last Ditch Effort” happened long ago in the times of the witch hunts and around those times. Nowadays no one would join up in mobs and start running around into houses killing people simply because a priest or some one told them to (thank goodnes)

    Mankind nowadays is being ruled by common sense and governmonts. Religion just doesnt have enough power nowadays.

    Also by the deffenition of Athiest’s I dont understand why religion would be hating us. Seriously it just means we dont believe what they believe that means in there opinion were going to hell and there for what we deserve (in there eyes) so shouldnt they pitty us it all is very confusing to me.

    By the way why do you keep saying we like we are a unionized worldwide club. And you keep saying your fellow athiests. This doesnt make any sense! Were a bunch of individuals who all just are not sure if they believe in any religion.

    I believe in some things. Like reincarnation spirits and Heaven but I dont believe in no god or devil. I just dont think it works that way.

  6. godlesspaladin May 7, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    Mad Brew, thanks for that really interesting comment, and thank you even more for your four years.

    Bob, I must respectfully disagree with a few points.

    “Mankind nowadays is being ruled by common sense and governmonts. Religion just doesnt have enough power nowadays.”
    What about 8 years of Bush? An evangelical christian who thought “god” told him to invade Iraq?

    What about the 57 countries that are member-states of the Organization of the Islamic Conference that are currently pushing to limit free speech across the world? There are plenty of countries around the world that are ruled by the religious nuts, put there by their religious population.

    As for “Nowadays no one would join up in mobs and start running around into houses killing people simply because a priest or some one told them to (thank goodnes)”

    This stuff still happens in third world countries, but also in the West. What about the 2006 Danish Cartoon controversy where 139 people were killed and thousands rioted in the streets and attacked buildings because the Imams pushed them to?

    Plus, it was only 60 years ago that 6 million people were systematically executed because of their religion. Oh, and the Bosnian genocides more recently also had a religious tinge.

  7. Larry Barnes August 19, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    Send $10.00 for pamphlet
    Larry Barnes
    601 S. San Pedro
    L.A.,CA 90014

Leave a Reply

