Atheists are still searching…

7 Apr

Last year I was talking to a black friend of mine about racism and being a minority. He was a little drunk and came out to me about being gay. I made some comment about how I didn’t have it easy either, and told him about how I was an Atheist, and how they are the least trusted, most hated group in the world. He replied with “That just means you’re still searching.” I didn’t know what to say, and I only realized later just how offensive what he said was.

He basically was saying “What you believe right now is wrong, but it’s ok because you’re still looking.” He was very religious, and the son of a preacher. I wonder what his reaction would have been if I had told him “It’s ok, you’re still searching, one day you’ll learn that what you believe is all wrong and that god doesn’t exist.”

3 Responses to “Atheists are still searching…”

  1. Gregory April 7, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Oooo, that one gets me.

    I wonder how he would’ve reacted it if you said re: his homosexuality, “don’t worry, you’re just still searching for the right woman.”

    Sigh. The Atheist as Broken/Incomplete Argument is a popular one with some Christians. And it’s almost like they are blind to how offensive it can be. I mean, sure, I’m searching — aren’t we all? Isn’t that something all thinking, caring people do their whole lives? — but it’s not what they think I’m searching for.

    You might want to check out Hello Universe, This is Nessie. She had a post about something similar: http://zeekeekee.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/losing-the-battle-winning-the-war/

  2. isnessie April 9, 2009 at 4:44 am #

    Greg took the words right out of my mouth. Imagine how hurtful it would have been for him if you had said the same thing to him about his homosexuality. It’s this offensive ‘kindness’ that really rankles me because the people who use it really don’t get how offensive it is.

  3. godlesspaladin April 9, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    Hey guys, thanks for the replies. And Nessie, I really like the post greg linked me too. Sorry your evening had to get wrecked. :-\

Leave a Reply

