Atheists must be wrong, and I rather not deal with them

23 Mar

I just don’t get some people. They just say Atheism is wrong without being able to give strong reasons. There is a woman in my religion class who is like this. I can tell she doesn’t like me, she tries to dismiss everything I say. I feel as if these people just refuse to consider the possibility that the Atheists might be correct.

I can picture her thinking “No, they can’t be correct, I can’t put my finger on it but they’re wrong, and I rather just not even deal with/think about them. They just don’t get it.”

These types of people irritate the hell out of me. The ones who just dismiss you entirely without even bothering to explain their reasons and open those reasons to debate. They’ve already made up their minds that premise X is true, and enjoy debating the details of X instead of whether or not it is valid in the first place.

4 Responses to “Atheists must be wrong, and I rather not deal with them”

  1. josyson March 23, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    You might be right,but then again maybe not?
    As a gambling person I think believers in God are rather hedging their bet!
    IF they’re right, then it’s eternal bliss, IF they’re wrong, they’ll never Know!!!!!!

  2. notreallyalice March 23, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    Another annoyance is the false dichotomy between religion and amorality. Either it’s God’s morality or there are no morals. I’m getting tired of that one, too.

    Also, I can’t think of Paladins without thinking of Everquest. Sorry. 🙂

  3. shamelesslyatheist March 23, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    It’s such a Christian thing to do, isn’t it? Even if it runs counter to the stated ideals of the religion….

  4. godlesspaladin March 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    Josyson, that bet hedging is called “pascal’s wager” and it’s really flawed. The problem is there are multiple possible religions one could believe in, many of which claim you will suffer if you don’t believe in their sect. Since one can’t believe in multiple exclusive sects at once, you’re still just as at risk….

Leave a Reply

