An atheist’s take on Obama’s inauguration

21 Jan

Today I watched Obama’s inauguration, and while I was happy that eight years of Bush were over, I couldn’t help but count the number of times “god” was invoked. But, as my girlfriend aptly pointed out, that’s Obama’s pejorative. Since it was his personal speech, not an official legal endorsement of one religion over another that’s fine. I must give him props for the nod to Atheists when he added “We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus – and non-believers.”

Yet, to understand how I felt every time “god” was invoked, imagine instead of “god” Obama said “the magic grapefruit”. It would sound ridiculous no? Calling on a magical invisible man in the sky is just as ridiculous as calling on a magical invisible grapefruit.

I guess what I really want is to one day have an openly Atheist president. I can’t think of anything better.

One Response to “An atheist’s take on Obama’s inauguration”

  1. Sisyphus Fragment January 21, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I personally think President Obama is not really a Christian, and even if he is, his devotion to rationalism and science is very profound. He may have to pay lip service to the Great Pumpkin, but at the end of the day he’s using reality based thinking with a critical eye.

    I think when you and I are old enough that our generation is starting to die off we’ll see an atheist president. Our children will be raised in a world of understanding, I certainly was not.

Leave a Reply

