The “miracle” on the Hudson is no miracle at all

17 Jan

Regarding the recent successful emergency landing in the Hudson river by flight 1549, everyone is quick to say “oh this is a miracle!!!!” No it’s not. There is nothing miraculous about it. God did not swoop down and gentlely guide the plane into the water. Instead of thanking some imaginary man in the sky, people should be thanking the pilots of that plan who saved 155 lives. It was the pilots, not the hand of god, that guided the plane safely to the river. It’s funny, people are quick to attribute this to god, but it makes you wonder, why wouldn’t god have just kept the birds from flying into the engines in the first place? Why the dramatics?

Which leads me to a second point. This was a very fortunate outcome, but often the outcomes are not so favorable, yet people still call things miracles. Had the plane crashed violently, killing all but one person, people would say it was a miracle that person survived; that god must have a special purpose for that person. But what about every other human being on that plane who died a painful death? What about their families? People always try to find ways to twist things to give god the credit and never the blame.

4 Responses to “The “miracle” on the Hudson is no miracle at all”

  1. M. Patterson January 17, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Not really. God gets the credit or the blame for both, whether things go right or not. The important thing is that he’s not just a bigger, more powerful human, like the President, that we ought to berate or criticize him when we dislike the outcome. For example, I’m thankful that I survived my commute to work (it’s a zoo out there), yet, I know that one day God will, quite precisely, kill me. Today, it’s the plane that made it. Tomorrow, it may be the plane that doesn’t. The difference is not whether or not God was at the steering wheel at the time. The difference is that, in all things, I am committed to trusting God.

  2. godlovesmebest January 19, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    As one US Airways flight 1549 survivor put it, “God was certainly looking out for all of us.” So I guess what this fortunate fellow means is, God, the old man with the beard who lives up in the clouds, decided that all the people on US Airways flight 1549 were so special, that he decided to frighten the crap out of all of them by faking a fatal plane crash, systematically making them think that they were going to die, then at the very last minute, God said, “HA-HA! Just kidding! I’m not going to kill you! I just wanted to scare the shit out of you, and then save your asses, since you’re all so special, and I really want you to know that I care for you and love you, so I’m going to save you now, so that you believe in me. The passengers on Flight 800, and other catastrophic fatal crashes were generally not good people, and so I disposed of them… After all, I’m God, damn it, and I exterminate bad people. The Sudanese victims of genocide are generally bad people, which is why I don’t let them live. 9-11 rescue workers, trapped and crushed on 9-11… Obviously bad people… Jewish victims of the Holocaust? Well certainly I had to kill them since they didn’t believe in the divinity of my son Jesus. I mean, no brainer there.”

  3. godlesspaladin January 20, 2009 at 6:50 am #

    I think this video is an excellent example of what I’m trying to get at, it’s short and funny.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prayer saved Gabriel Gifford…according to Fox Viewers « The Godless Paladin - January 21, 2011

    […] let out a collective groan because here we go again. Just as with the Chilean mine collapse, or the plane crash on the Hudson river, people always find a way to praise their invisibly sky daddy and never blame […]

Leave a Reply

